1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Help with GBA emulation

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by willnelli, Jan 7, 2012.

  1. willnelli

    willnelli Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Hey everyone! I currently use an iPhone but I USED to use a Droid 2. I have factory reset it and now use Wi-fi as my source of internet usage. My other main usage for this extra phone was to be able to play GBA games on it (specifically Pokemon Emerald :/). I have looked at a lot of emulators (GBC A.D., etc) and none of them work when I try to play a .GBA file on my android. I even used a apk of Gameboid because its not on the market any more. Not even with set bios did the game work.

    I'm very confused :/ I used to be able to smoothly run pokemon on my droid but now I cannot find a way to :(

    I'm asking if there is anyone out there who knows how to, to please tell me :) I am ok with rooting it as well.
     

    Advertisement

  2. darkuni

    darkuni Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    First off, beware the piracy talk around here .. Just because something isn't on the Android market anymore, doesn't mean it is free :)

    When you launch the emulator, go into SETTINGS and look under GBA BIOS FILE.. There should be a path to a GBA_BIOS.BIN file - and that file should be in the designated location.

    If it IS, and there is a file, it is probably a "dummy" bin file that is there to show you were to put a REAL one.

    The file contains copyright information from Nintendo - and I'm sure the mods here would nuke this post if I told you were to actually get a working one.

    What I will tell you is that MINE works, and that the MD5 checksum of mine is:

    a860e8c0b6d573d191e4ec7db1b1e4f6

    If you find one that matches this, it will probably work.

    I'm not sure how much more I can help you without violating the rules of the forum.
     
  3. willnelli

    willnelli Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    I have viewed all three of my emulators and none of them have any BIOS settings :(
     
  4. mikepic

    mikepic Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010

    Jul 17, 2010
    220
    53
    53
    Analyst
    CT
    In your settings go click that link up to that says "GBA BIOS file". A simple file explorer will open and you need to find the bios file used for GBA. Find it and click it and you should be all ready to go.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. willnelli

    willnelli Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    In all honesty, my Gameboid app doesnt have that selection. Perhaps it is an older version? I have also downloaded the BIOS and installed it but it still doesnt work.
     
  6. darkuni

    darkuni Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    May 2, 2010

    Well, you're down to a few options here:

    1) Your GBA BIOS is zipped, and it doesn't like it.
    2) Your GBA BIOS is dummy file and/or corrupted/doesn't work.
    3) Your GBA BIOS is in the wrong place.
     

Share This Page

Loading...