1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Help with my ZTE Blade please :(

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Suaper, Oct 21, 2011.

  1. Suaper

    Suaper Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011

    Oct 21, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    About 3 months ago I got my San Fran and I rooted, added a custom ROM etc all fine, but a couple of days ago I updated some apps on my phone and installed BusyBox using the most popular installer on the market in the hope that it will update my SuperUser as the SuperUser update fixer wasn't working but then I rebooted my phone and it never turned on, it just stayed on the green bot :( I've heard that if it stays on the green bot it means it's bricked? Is this correct?

    I've posted at MoDaCo but I haven't got a reply yet and I'm pretty desperate. I can't remember anything about anything when it comes to flashing and everything else. Do I need to reflash it and install the stock ROM? Or is there something else I can do? I can't remember what GEN my phone is but I can get into Clockwork Recovery. I've wiped my phone, cleared the cache and reset it to factory default but still nothing will work.

    I'm pretty worried and I really would appreciate some help as I don't really know what I've done for it to be this way :/. Please be slow with me too, I have forgotten just about everything and I'm worried to buck anything up even further.
     

    Advertisement

  2. lfc4ever

    lfc4ever Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    344
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    344
    91
    73
    Do you regularly backup your data & apps with something like Titanium Backup at all?

    Do you keep a copy of the custom rom, and a full backup of the phone via clockworkmod on your sd card or PC or Dropbox?

    If you can answer yes, then you are more or less covered, if you answer no then you are prob going to have reflash just to see if that works at all just to get your phone working, you will lose all your data & phone numbers though, so only reflash as a last resort.

    I know it's after the horse has bolted, but regular backups are called regular for a reason :) By no means am I having a go, just posting so that others reading can make an informed choice as to whether to backup right this instance, as losing everything is a real pita.
     
  3. dannymur

    dannymur Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    361
    153
    68
    Male
    Ireland's Lake Land
    So, just to go back,

    What was the problem with SU, were you being asked again to allow certain root only apps, or what?

    Had you been given a SU warning that SU Binary was out of date? (the # sign in the notification area)

    Did you update SU?

    What prompted you to download SU Update Fixer?

    What message displayed when you used it? Did it find any signature mismatch, which is it's purpose?

    Was the Fix option available, or "greyed out"?

    What prompted you to install Busybox, which is just an extended Linux command set for root users, AFAIK, it would have no relevance for SU. It really is for Unix/Linux heads, who use Terminal (Emulator) Commands.

    Are you sure your phone was still rooted?

    I think you should/will be able to recover, as you have already wiped almost everything already, but it will mean flashing a ROM, either via Recovery, or by using a TPT. Your apps should restore via market, once you sign into your gmail.

    I think using a TPT for Gen 2 will make no difference if you are already GEN 2, which has previously been Gen 1, only if your phone was already GEN 2 when purchased is this a prob.

    You can use the TPT and have a ROM of your choice on the SD Card, ready to flash after TPT.......TPT will wipe everything and install a ClockworkMod Recovery, so you will be starting afresh.

    Where to get TPT now, I think XDA rather than MoDaco, as WBAW has moved there, so check......link below:

    Gen1 to Gen2 TPT Upgrade - xda-developers

    BTW, wbaw also includes a combined TPT GEN1>GEN2 and CyanogenMod 7.1 install...all-in-one.

    I would strongly support lfc4ever's warnings regarding Backups, first thing to do is Nand Back-up via Recovery, so you can always get back to a good image. Also, Titanium Backup is good. And Regular means exactly that!!!

    Hope the above helps.
     
    lfc4ever likes this.
  4. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    the boys have gave u the technical stuff so il just give u re-assurance, u can get into recovery mode so the phone is by no means bricked, its probably just confused+needs a nice working rom to tell it how to function :)
     
    dannymur likes this.
  5. dannymur

    dannymur Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    361
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    361
    153
    68
    Male
    Ireland's Lake Land
    Yeah, liddle bit of TLC......

    [​IMG]

    BTW, it would be nice if OP actually came back here to say if he/she was helped or not, just sayin' like [​IMG]
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...