1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Help with rooting

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by bigt, Nov 4, 2013.

  1. bigt

    bigt Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    251
    42
    43
    Admin
    Hereford
    Hello

    I thought I'd root my Nexus 5, I rebooted into bootloader/fastboot and unlocked the bootlader using:

    fastboot oem unlock

    Then I flashed the recovery:

    fastboot flash recovery openrecovery-twrp-2.6.3.0-hammerhead.img

    Then I rebooted to recovery and pushed my super user zip to the sdcard:

    adb push ./UPDATE-SuperSU-v1.65.zip /sdcard/

    but when i go to install this zip (using the install option in TWRP) I get:

    Updating partition details....
    E: unable to mount storage
    Error flashing zip '/sdcard/UPDATE-SuperSU-v1.65.zip
    Updating partition details....
    E: unable to mount storage

    and a message saying Failed

    I have tried rebooting into bootloader/fastboot and reflashing the recovery image but no change..
     

    Advertisement

  2. Captain Geek

    Captain Geek Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013

    Nov 3, 2013
    5
    3
    26
    Male
    School
    Texas
    You might just try installing the SuperSU app by Chainfire in the Play Store.
     
  3. bigt

    bigt Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    251
    42
    43
    Admin
    Hereford
    I can't boot into system
     
  4. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    Recovery might be a bit buggy since it's so early, try using Playful God's version of cwm recovery he provided in another thread to flash it.
     
  5. bigt

    bigt Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    251
    42
    43
    Admin
    Hereford
    Thanks for the suggestion, I just tried that, it boots into recovery, i can highlight options using vol up and down, but can't actually select them (the power button won't work on it)..
     
  6. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,538
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,538
    1,761
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    (maybe) Is it a touch-enabled recovery?
     
  7. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    Leave a comment for PG in his thread so that he can see that and make an adjustment.
     
  8. bigt

    bigt Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    251
    42
    43
    Admin
    Hereford
    tried that too
     
  9. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,940
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,940
    13,151
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    It looks like it can't mount /storage. Have you tried going into the Mounts portion of TWRP and manually mounting storage?

    Also, there should be an option to push the log file to SD. That could be very helpful for the developers in debugging it
     
  10. bigt

    bigt Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    251
    42
    43
    Admin
    Hereford
    It is in a drawer now and I have ordered a new one from Google (a 32GB this one is 16GB) one this time. I will fix the one in the drawer sometime when the development community has matured/got bigger.

    I did try manually mounting
     
  11. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    twrp released an update, 2.6.3.1. Give that a try.
     
  12. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,940
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,940
    13,151
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    I've put a warning on our root guide until we get a confirmation that one of the recoveries is working as expected
     
  13. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    Yeah, can't test until tomorrow.
     
  14. bigt

    bigt Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    251
    42
    43
    Admin
    Hereford
    still no internal storage :/ at least I had some Google shares to sell to get a new phone! Now to wait for Google Play!
     
  15. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    Dang, that's upsetting. I guess the other option would be to try Chainfire's CF-Auto Root exploit while we wait for a working recovery. I hate automated tools though because I hate surrendering control, lol. Just make sure you grab the correct version to avoid a hard brick.
     
  16. bigt

    bigt Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    May 19, 2010

    May 19, 2010
    251
    42
    43
    Admin
    Hereford

    Yes, and automated tools are usually windows based and I use Linux.

    Going back to my HTC One S feels weird even after two days of the Nexus.
     
  17. rayfin

    rayfin Writer at Phandroid.com
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Chainfire's root method doesn't use an exploit. It just boots an insecure kernel.

    It's now available if anyone needs it for windows, linux, and mac.

    How to root the Nexus 5
     
    jhawkkw likes this.
  18. morgankslade

    morgankslade Android Expert
    Rank:
     #192
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    855
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011

    Aug 9, 2011
    855
    135
    113
    Mens Formalwear
    Southeast, Michigan
    Yeah I am having a prob with a custom recovery myself.
    Will work on it tomorrow.
    Good Night.
     
  19. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
  20. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    ^It works, so now we can use the manual method.
     
  21. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,538
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,538
    1,761
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    I'll raise your 2.6.3.1 to a 2.6.3.2 :p
     
  22. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    A word of caution, Titanium backup doesn't recognize the pro key.
     
  23. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,538
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,538
    1,761
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    Really? Mine did.
     
  24. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    Alright, now this is upsetting. Why isn't it working then? :thinking:
     
  25. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,538
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,538
    1,761
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    Try uninstalling and re-installing the key.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...