1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Help with something that's driving me nuts

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by sarspants, Dec 5, 2009.

  1. sarspants

    sarspants Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    111
    6
    36
    How do I type a word without adding it to my dictionary? Say I'm purposely misspelling a word for an example of something like "haha, you totally just typed compooter instead of computer" but I don't want to add that word/use the word it suggests. I can't figure it out!
     

    Advertisement

  2. marcelo0292

    marcelo0292 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    96
    0
    15
    I just hit the space key and it doesn't add it

    Hope that helps
     
  3. eyebeam

    eyebeam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,417
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    I use the trackball to highlight what I typed (don't click) and then space. Tada! Word not added.
     
  4. sarspants

    sarspants Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    111
    6
    36
    Pressing space just adds the suggested word. Trackball works though :)
     
  5. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    737
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    737
    65
    78
    New York
    Ok... are the words once added removable? Can the learned dictionary/wordlist be edited? Some phones allow that but I haven't found it on the Hero. No biggie, just curious.

    TIA...
     
  6. eyebeam

    eyebeam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,417
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Annoyingly, it would appear not. You can reset the user dictionary but not edit.
     
  7. aznsmith

    aznsmith Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    96
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009

    Oct 17, 2009
    96
    0
    15
    just out of curiosity, how do you reset the user dictionary?
    I tried clearing the data out of Touch Input but my custom (misspelt) words are still in there.
     
  8. eyebeam

    eyebeam Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,417
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    This is how I've seen how to do it from other sources.

    Go to settings > Applications > Manage Applications > Read "War and Peace" and maybe go out for a beer while the info loads:) > Touch Input > Clear data. This will clear everything you have added to the dictionary.
     
  9. nianymue

    nianymue Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009

    Dec 25, 2009
    2
    0
    5
    Yeah it takes forever to load the manage applications. I wish this phone had a faster processor.
     
  10. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #40
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    6,120
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,120
    3,787
    643
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    if i dont want a word entered i just tap on another part of the screen and the word is no longer highlighted therefore wont be entered...
     
  11. nianymue

    nianymue Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009

    Dec 25, 2009
    2
    0
    5
    Yeah it takes forever to load.. I wish this phone had a faster processor.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...