1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Help with Sprint Plans!!!

Discussion in 'Sprint' started by devonfwright, Oct 9, 2010.

  1. devonfwright

    devonfwright Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    so i have an old Free and Clear plan (3000 minutes, unlimited text and data, etc). Granted this plan is about 8 years old, but i have been using it on WinMo phones for 4 years now with no problem. I just got off the phone with Sprint, and they are insisting that i upgrade to a new plan of theirs if i want an Epic 4g. I understand that regardless of my plan i will be charged the $10 premium data fee, so why can't they just charge me an extra $10 and add that to my new plan?

    Has anyone found any kind of work around for this yet? And the main reason i won't change my plan, it's only $14/month for the minutes, data, weekend minutes, and TEP with all taxes included. I can't justify an $80 increase in monthly service charges for this phone.

    Please let me know if anyone out there has successfully been able to get an older plan grandfathered in for a new 4G phone on sprint.

    Best,

    DFW
     

    Advertisement

  2. BenChase7

    BenChase7 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,233
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010

    Jun 16, 2010
    2,233
    876
    213
    Male
    RN
    Phoenix
    I dont want to make you any promises, but when I switch to the Everything Data 450... my 25% employee discount transfered.. Sprint asked no questions.
     
  3. Seddy

    Seddy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    308
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    308
    31
    63
    Male
    Package Handler - UPS
    at home...
    Unfortunately you will not be able to use a Grandfathered plan on any of our new devices. The grandfathered plans are only good if you keep the same device. Since most of the new phones require data plans, the system will not allow the phone to be added to the account without changing the plan.
     
  4. Rigmaster

    Rigmaster Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,584
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,584
    220
    143
    Not going to be able to grandfather this old plan with an Epic. Sprint's made it pretty clear that any device that accesses Wimax will require an updated plan.
     
  5. badankles

    badankles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    972
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    972
    90
    98
    USA
    i think you are SOL. there is no way sprint will let you keep that plan with any new model devices. that's how they get people to get out of old plans, because they know eventually, people will want/need a new phone.

    unless, i don't know if this will work, you already have the device in hand (unsubsidized), maybe they can then activate it under current contract. i highly doubt that they would for a 4G device, but maybe a non-4G device?
     
  6. AndroidSPCS

    AndroidSPCS Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,222
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    3,222
    478
    183
    geek
    USA
    The only smart phone phone that will work with your existing plan is the Touch Pro 2.

    That's what I got for my wife since her plan is too good to give up.

    Nope, all Android phones must be activated with a EPRP / ED / EM plan or SERO w/ premium option. No exceptions.
     
  7. ufjason

    ufjason Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010

    Nov 17, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    You can activate an android on a free and clear 3000 plan. I've been using a Hero for almost a year now. You can use any 3g phone after it's been out for a certain amount of time. The problem is that without your indirect account executive's approval, you will NOT be able to activate a 4g android phone. It would only cost an extra $10 bucks but without them signing off, you can't upgrade. I'm in the same boat, would love to get an Evo, qualify for the upgrade but can't get it due to my not working for the retailer I got my plan with 10 years ago!
     
  8. zuma

    zuma Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    5
    0
    5
    @ufjason--I'd love details on how you got an android on the FC plan. Please pm. Thanks.
     
  9. JMac202

    JMac202 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    496
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    496
    150
    68
    I lost my old retention plan of 50 bucks a month with 1000 minutes Unlimited texts, data email etc when I upgraded. I wasn't too happy but I wanted a new phone and had no choice.
     
  10. swivle

    swivle Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012

    Nov 7, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    Go to the support site and request a tech over text dialogue. Do not call them. The supps are told not to support these lines. I now have an epic 4g and am getting it warrantied and everything. Your third party lines are quite valid and will be until we see what happens with the new sprint deal next year. The plan is the same with the wimax and lte. Tell the tech that you no longer have access to the 3rd party reps and need help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...