1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Help With Tether and PdaNet

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by YamR1, Aug 21, 2010.

  1. YamR1

    YamR1 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010

    Mar 28, 2010
    80
    2
    16
    Used PdaNet in the past under the free trial without much problem, was told not to upgrade to avoid the blocking of https and to do backup with astro to save that feature.. switched to a different phone for awhile and just came back to the eris still had pdanet installed but had removed from pc and had to reinstall there.. I can log into alot of site with user/pass but not yahoo or ebay (the two I need most) When I re-installed on pc it also reinstalled on phone. Did this mess things up? WHen I go into astro the only options now are to uninstall or browse file.. Is there any way to get back to where I was? Is USB tethering an option with a rooted phone? thanks for all the help.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hiroshika

    Hiroshika Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    May 30, 2010

    May 30, 2010
    166
    24
    38
    I think you are confused. The free version, after the trial expires, will block https. Even if you uninstall and reinstall. You arent gonna cheat the system.

    There is wifi tether for root users, and if you dont want to root, then you could use EasyTether. (Which does usb tethering as well, just like pdanet)
     
  3. Fulltime Traveler

    Fulltime Traveler Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2009

    Dec 27, 2009
    151
    12
    38
    On the road
    Are you saying that EasyTether does something besides USB tethering?
     
  4. cmartine

    cmartine Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I am using the Droid X and Windows 7 Professional 64-bit and am baffled as to why I am receiving the message: "PdaNet broadband driver is either not installed or need to reset, try to reboot your computer"

    I have made sure that I connect my Droid's PdaNet before the computer's, only connected via "USB Mass Storage", and activated debugging. Everything worked when I used PdaNet last week, but now I only receive that message. (And I've also tried restarting my computer.)
     
  5. cwcheese

    cwcheese Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #875
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Where are you seeing the error message? on DroidX or on PC? Also, just checking... did you install PDANet client on the PC? I am running PDANet without issue on Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit.
     
  6. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Are you sure your running a 64 bit driver? You can't use a 32 bit driver on a 64 bit OS.
     
  7. stiznoit

    stiznoit Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011

    Jun 15, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Droid eris 2.1
    Pdanet
    Macbook pro

    Connects via usb tether (droid side)
    But when trying to connect from mac
    Just get blinking grey ball...never
    No data transfer.

    Via Verizon.

    Saw something about disabling mobile broadband?
    Not sure how to do that...

    Thnx
     

Share This Page

Loading...