1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Help with the 'Not registered on Network' problem

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by mcfudd247, Jul 19, 2013.

  1. mcfudd247

    mcfudd247 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013

    Jul 19, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    Hi all,


    I'm getting the old 'not registered on any network' fault. I've tried to have a read up but have had no luck.

    It's for a Samsung Galaxy S2 running 4.1.2

    I have tried:
    1. Soft Reset (off and on)
    2. Hard Reset (factory restore)
    3. trying to select network (however tesco mobil isn't a choice, but choosing automatically says I have registered on network, but then won't allow me to call)

    I cannot phone or text however I can use mobile data.

    All help appreciated
     

    Advertisement

  2. Kaat72

    Kaat72 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Hi!
    Check this: settings/more settings/mobile networks/mobile data. That box needs to be checked, in my experience.
     
  3. mcfudd247

    mcfudd247 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013

    Jul 19, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    Box is indeed checked... still no network registered.

    I have not had a problem with mobile data. Just making/receiving calls/texts
     
  4. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,666
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,666
    19,049
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    Having mobile data but not calls is odd - it's usually the other way round. And how can you have data if you can't register?

    Are you certain it's not an account, SIM or network problem? I'd try the SIM in a different phone, and if it still doesn't work that means it's time to contact your provider. If it does, I guess we have to figure it out...
     
  5. Kaat72

    Kaat72 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I had exactly the same thing with my S2 once. The guys from the ict helpdesk at my office tweaked some settings and it was fixed.
     
  6. mcfudd247

    mcfudd247 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013

    Jul 19, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    Hi guys,

    Thanks for trying to help.

    I know it is strange to have data but not calls!

    I have now also tried:

    4. SIM in an old nokia (with snake!!!) and calls and texts work fine
    5. Spoken to my service provider and they have not been able to help

    My current course of action (remember I am not technical!!) is to root my phone and then try a different ROM.

    Unless you can think of a better way?

    Thanks
     
  7. Kaat72

    Kaat72 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I would give this post some time. Someone else might drop by with the right answer. Did you post your question in the S4 thread as well, or would you like this one to be moved to the S4 thread?
     
  8. mcfudd247

    mcfudd247 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013

    Jul 19, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    So I think my tinkering has made things a whole lot worse!
     
  9. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    27,312
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    27,312
    16,724
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Phone could be IMEI blacklisted. Did you buy it second hand? If it was second hand probably worth looking at CheckMend, see if it's blocked and maybe reported stolen or lost.

    Seems odd though that data works but calls don't. Worth trying another SIM(from a different account) in the phone see if that works, and if that doesn't work, almost certain it's blacklisted. I think mobile data is handled separately to calls and SMS, which could be why it's not doing calls or SMS, but data is working. It's this "not registered on any network" that makes me suspicious about it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...