1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General help with wifi hotspot

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ladynred, Jan 3, 2014.

  1. ladynred

    ladynred Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014

    Jan 3, 2014
    3
    0
    5
    I'm trying to use my hydro edge on boost mobile as a WiFi hotspot and need some help. I have successfully rooted it but still can't get any wifi hotspot apps to work. Can someone please tell me what I am missing?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,894
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    Do the apps run? Do the other devices connect? We need to know what the problem is. "Doesn't work" doesn't give us much to help you with.
     
  3. ladynred

    ladynred Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014

    Jan 3, 2014
    3
    0
    5
    They either do not run at all or nothing happens when they do run. It varies depending on the app. The comp I'm trying to connect with sees no WiFi connection from them.
     
  4. ladynred

    ladynred Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014

    Jan 3, 2014
    3
    0
    5
    Hello can anyone help me?
     
  5. MisterParadox

    MisterParadox Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    May 22, 2012

    May 22, 2012
    104
    51
    53
    Male
    Have you installed and tried it with Barnacle?
     
  6. Slayer72

    Slayer72 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #75
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    2,672
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011

    Dec 22, 2011
    2,672
    955
    323
    Male
    Troy NY
  7. nickman102

    nickman102 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I am having the same problem, no Hotspot app works.
     
  8. MisterParadox

    MisterParadox Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    104
    Joined:
    May 22, 2012

    May 22, 2012
    104
    51
    53
    Male
    Are you rooted? Have you tried Barnacle?
     
  9. hopedpocketts

    hopedpocketts Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    117
    23
    38
    Male
    NONE
    south west florida
    I cannot get any to work either. Barnacle starts but says could not connect to Nat services. My pc can see but not connect. Wi-Fi tether for root users, tried multiple settings could not get to work either. Easy tether or USB tethering may work.

    (Edit) I purchased easy tether about 3 years ago, just now using it again. Works like a charm, requires pc client app.
     
  10. Bill5683

    Bill5683 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 13, 2014

    May 13, 2014
    5
    0
    5
    Has anyone tried this on a rooted hydro edge? I had the og hydro and bricked it trying to put beats audio on it. I really don't want to buy a new phone again...
     
  11. Bill5683

    Bill5683 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 13, 2014

    May 13, 2014
    5
    0
    5
  12. Bill5683

    Bill5683 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 13, 2014

    May 13, 2014
    5
    0
    5
    OK... So I was looking through here, I ended up getting barnacle. It works just fine with windows 7...
     
  13. hopedpocketts

    hopedpocketts Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    117
    23
    38
    Male
    NONE
    south west florida
    On boost mobile, did prl/profile update, phone rebooted automatically, upon reboot phone was factory reset, Crap, but I soon realized that I now have built in mobile hotspot. Now, is it possible to hack?
     
  14. DxGP

    DxGP Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2014

    Aug 22, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    Male
    United States
  15. hopedpocketts

    hopedpocketts Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    117
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    117
    23
    38
    Male
    NONE
    south west florida
    This it's for another phone, May help you tho...http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1884053
     

Share This Page

Loading...