1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Help?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by roym6, Jun 4, 2011.

  1. roym6

    roym6 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    129
    22
    38
    I just rooted my phone using this [Guide][TOOL] How to root fastboot style. Fastest easiest way around - xda-developers and need some help with some stuff i want to do

    I want to
    -delete bloatware
    -get this rom [ROM][WIP][ALPHA] aospCMod | AOSP 2.3.4 / CM7+ (Gingerbread) - xda-developers
    - overclock

    i already checked some links so please do not link(except files that i need) because they dont make any sense, if you could please provide step by step procedures that a caveman could follow. thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. roym6

    roym6 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    129
    22
    38
    took care of bloatware but still need to know how to flash that rom and overclock. :thinking:
     
  3. rocketspank

    rocketspank Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    43
    9
    16
    Cool. You're off to a good start. Now download ROM Manager from the Market and basically follow all of the pictures here. That is the same link in the how to on the AOSP page... I believe all you have to do is do everything in the pictures but I could be wrong. There may have been one or two other things I had to do... This will install AOSP.

    Once you're done with that, all it takes is going to your Settings > CyanogenMod Settings > Performance > CPU settings to overclock.


    EDIT!!
    Sorry. All that in red is wrong... Once you have it downloaded from the ROM Manager, you have to reboot into recovery. To do this I installed a Terminal Emulator and SuperUser then typed this into the terminal emulator:

    su (*next line should start with a $. if it does not, you need to grant it root permissions*)
    reboot recovery

    I had to do that because pressing the power button and choosing Reboot > Recovery didn't work for me.

    Once you're in there you need to go to Flash Zip Menu > Flash Zip from SDCard > clockworkmod/ > ...all the way to the aosp file > flash that sucker.

    Then you should be good to go.
     
  4. roym6

    roym6 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    129
    22
    38
    ok so i tried to flash it before you posted. what i did was i got the second file from the rom link that has .zip and put it onto my sd card. then i used rom manager to install it but when it rebooted it looked like stock rom but without bloatware, youtube, maps, android market. now i cant use rom manager to go back because it got deleted. what do i do?
     
  5. rocketspank

    rocketspank Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    43
    9
    16
    The link that has gapps in the name? If so, that is the one you need to use to install all of the Google Apps such as Market after you install your ROM.

    Do you have another ROM on your phone that you can flash to to get Market back?
     
  6. roym6

    roym6 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    129
    22
    38
    well i used the clock work thing so theres that one. how do i access it?
     
  7. roym6

    roym6 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    129
    22
    38
    yes the one that has gapps
     
  8. rocketspank

    rocketspank Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    43
    9
    16
    Like I mentioned, that one is the one you'll flash after you flash AOSP to get all of the Google Apps and such.
     
  9. roym6

    roym6 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    129
    22
    38
    how do i flash my previous rom
     
  10. rocketspank

    rocketspank Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    43
    9
    16
    Go back into recovery. If you can't do it from your phone, you can always use the adb shell in cmd to access the terminal from your phone on your computer and type:
    su
    reboot recovery
     
  11. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    Before you do anything, install Titanium Backup from the Android Market and backup all your apps+data

    1) Download aospCWMod-VM670-20110531.img Clockworkmod on your phone

    2) Download aospCMod-VM670-20110601-signed.zip aospCMod-VM670-20110601-signed.zip on your phone

    3) Download gapps-gb-20110325-signed.zip gapps on your phone

    4) Use any file manager from the market, and place the above files on the root of your sdcard

    5) Install Terminal Emulator from the Android Market

    6) Open Terminal Emulator and type the following:

    su
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /system /system
    flash_image recovery /sdcard/aospCWMod-VM670-20110531.img
    reboot recovery

    7) Once your phone reboots into recovery, choose backup and let it backup everything

    8) Once your backup is done, choose wipe cache, then advanced>>wipe dalvik cache

    9) Choose mounts and format system, data, and cache

    10) Back in the main recovery menu, choose install update from zip, then choose the aospCMod-VM670-20110601-signed.zip

    11) Once it is finished installing, do the same with gapps.zip

    12) Back in the main recovery menu, choose reboot system

    It will take a long time to boot since you had to wipe/format lots of stuff, be patient, when it's done, you will have your OptimusV running aospCM7, have fun! ;)
     
  12. roym6

    roym6 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    129
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    129
    22
    38
    will it get stuck at the ANDROID screen, as you say it will take a long time and my phone doesn't move from the ANDROID screen
     
  13. LintLicker

    LintLicker Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    edit: I posted something previously but have since found the answer. But I do have a new question. What file manager would you recommend and how do I place the files in the root of the sdcard with it? I just need you to explain step 6 just an inch more. I think your guide is awesome and relatively easy to understand, but I hate it when root/rom guides leave vagueness in the steps.
     
  14. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    When you type su, if you have root, it will change from $ to #. If it doesn't, you don't have root.
     
  15. mkbkr1

    mkbkr1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    332
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    332
    135
    68
    Sunset, Louisiana
    I use super manager (free from the market). If you downloaded using your phone, open your download folder using the file manager, check the file you want to move. Click the cut button (should say ' prepare to cut'). Click the on screen home button, it will take back to the root of the sd card. Click the paste button (looks like a clipboard). At this point it always tells me not enough room. Just ignore it. School all the way down past the folders and should see the file. These instructions are for super manager, other file managers may be set up differently. If you downloaded with your pc just connect via usb mass storage and drag it to the sd card. Make sure you don't put it in a folder. When they refer to the root of the card, it just means not in a folder.
     
    AndyOpie150 likes this.
  16. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    Step 6 is the point where you actually install the recovery image file.

    su
    this is the command that gives you super user permission, in this case it gives the terminal application super user permission.


    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /system /system
    this remounts, or resets, the system folder as read/write so you can write the new recovery image to it
    Note- if you are getting errors, make sure you have spaces in place of these underlines:
    mount_-o_remount,rw_-t_yaffs2_/system_/system


    flash_image recovery /sdcard/aospCWMod-VM670-20110531.img
    this uses the app flash_image (details) to write the new recovery image


    reboot recovery
    this is the command that reboots your phone into recovery mode so that you can install the ROM and gapps
     
    AndyOpie150 likes this.
  17. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    The simplest things like putting files on the root of the SDcard(didn't know that it meant to just not put it in a folder when putting it on the SDcard)Is something that is very useful to those nuubs,newbs,?like myself who have a strong desire to customeize and inprove our phones but have no development knowledge or experiance. In my case I'm also learning my way around a computer. If someone where to slow down and explain things as if they where one of us lowly newbs I sure many thanks would follow. I do appreciate all explanations,and the more newb oriented the better(less gnashing of teeth,Gray hairs,and worry lines for me). Thanks again to JerryScript and mkbkr1 for your informative posts. I still like to research and discover new things that I might do to my "V" and if all posts where as newb oriented as the above posts more people would wan't to customize their phones. Thanks again AndyOpie150
     
  18. DelilahsDaddy

    DelilahsDaddy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I have a VM670 (LG Optimus V) and I tried to install aospCMod and, long story short, now I am stuck in clockworkmod recovery (version 3.2.0.0) [every time I boot my phone, it goes straight to clockworkMod Recovery]. I have downloaded aospCWMod-VM670-20110531.img but I have NO idea how to load it without access to the terminal emulator [which I can't access because I can't get out of cwm recovery], can it be installed from clockworkmod recovery? If not, can it be loaded through the debug bridge when connected to USB? Does anyone know how to load adb through windows command prompt (I did this once before, so I already have everything installed, I just can't remember how to load the adb (android debug bridge) itself.

    Thanks in advance. I have a good bit of computer experience, but little experience with command prompt and only slightly more experience with android, so please "dumb it down for me".

    -Steve :thinking:
     
  19. mkbkr1

    mkbkr1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    332
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    332
    135
    68
    Sunset, Louisiana
    Roms will come in a flashable zip. The .img file you have is a recovery image. That one is the recommended recovery for aosp. Look on page 221 of the aosp thread on xda-developers.com, and you will find a link to the rom. It is something like aospcmod.vm670.20106.01.zip. Sorry I don't have the link, on my phone right now.
     
  20. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    Assuming you have installed the Java SDK, the Android SDK, and the LG drivers for the optimus V:

    Download the following files to your computer:
    aospCWMod-VM670-20110531.img
    aospCMod-VM670-20110601-signed.zip
    gapps-gb-20110325-signed.zip

    1) Attach your phone to your computer via usb with the phone turned on

    2) Press the windows key on your computer, if XP click run then type cmd and press enter, if Windows 7 just type command and press enter, this will open a command prompt window

    3) type cd c:/THE_PATH_TO_ANDROID-SDK/platform-tools

    4) type adb shell
    note- at this point, if you see a $ sign, you don't have root, see the sticky thread on rooting, you should see a # sign when rooted

    5) At the # prompt, type mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /system /system

    6) type exit

    7) You are now back in the normal command prompt, type the following lines:
    adb push c:/THE_PATH_TO_aospCWMod-20110531.img /sdcard/aospCWMod-20110531.img
    adb push c:/THE_PATH_TO_aospCMod-20110531-signed.zip /sdcard/aospCMod-20110531-signed.zip
    adb push c:/THE_PATH_TO_gapps-gb-20110503-signed.zip /sdcard/gapps-gb-20110325-signed.zip
    note-change the filenames if you renamed them on your PC

    8) type adb flash_image recovery /sdcard/aospCWMod-20110531.img

    9) type reboot recovery

    10) In recovery, you should have more than 4 options, if not something is wrong

    11) choose wipe cache

    12) under advanced, choose wipe dalvik cache

    13) press back to the main menu, then choose mounts and format the following:
    A) system
    B) data
    c) cache
    d) boot

    14) press back to the main menu, then choose install update from sdcard

    15) DO NOT choose update from zip, choose select zip from sdcard

    16) select aospCMod-VM670-20110601-signed.zip, be patient, it takes 5-15 minutes

    17) choose select zip from sdcard again, this time choose gapps-gb-20110325-signed.zip

    18) press back to the main menu, then choose reboot system now

    It will take a long time to reboot, since the system is rebuilding everything, but once it's done, you should boot into your new aospCM7 ROM.
     
  21. StephenRM

    StephenRM Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Currently employed at Weis Markets
    PA, USA
    I followed what you said in your last post and get to step 16 and it starts installing and then 5 seconds later i get a message saying that there is an error in the aospCMod.....zip folder. Should i try and download the .zip again and see if that fixes it? Please help!! And i did backup so i just recovered back to the way my phone was... :thinking: Just a little confused at the moment and going to re-download the zips and start over and see if that helps.

    *Edit*
    I only followed from step 10 on... this just gave more explanation to what all i had to wipe and format...
     
  22. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    StephenRM likes this.
  23. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
  24. StephenRM

    StephenRM Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011

    Jun 3, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Currently employed at Weis Markets
    PA, USA
    Ok, well i have ClockworkMod 3.2.0.0... so... is there anyway i can get version 3.1.x.x or do i have to do it different from what you explained above. Going to try anyways to see what happens and if it doesn't work just flash back from my backup... :/

    Thanks for the help and response though! :D
     
  25. JerryScript

    JerryScript Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,212
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011

    Mar 15, 2011
    2,212
    2,065
    313
    Las Vegas
    ClockworkMod 3.2.0.0 may work, but for sure the xionia recovery will work.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...