1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Helppp!!!!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by 2xblessed, May 2, 2012.

  1. 2xblessed

    2xblessed Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    ok.. so im new to this. but im freaking out!!!! i have a rooted evo 4g and was messing around and installed rom manager. then i backed up my phone and tried downloaded cym mod. then when i went to instal it started fine then all i see is colors across my screen and the phone tried to restart but its stock on that white screen... what do i do??? did i crash my phone?
     

    Advertisement

  2. martinlaw284

    martinlaw284 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012

    Apr 25, 2012
    3
    2
    6
    Hold vol down and power at the same time whilst the phone is switched off and a menu will pop up... Then using vol up and down scroll down to clear storage and select it by pressing the power button once. Give it a go u shouldent mess with it if you dont know what you are doing
     
    frenchy714 and 2xblessed like this.
  3. martinlaw284

    martinlaw284 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012

    Apr 25, 2012
    3
    2
    6
    Of that dont work then flash a new rom
     
  4. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    frenchy714, ocnbrze and 9to5cynic like this.
  5. 2xblessed

    2xblessed Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    thanks. it worked... but when the phone restarted, cyanogenmod was on. i dont like it. i did a backup.. how to restore to my previous state?
     
  6. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Well now we have another issue. My bad for not foreseeing this as a possibility.

    Amon Ra can't restore CWM backups. But there is a recovery that can. Its based on Amon Ra but can do both. Its the same recovery I use and I would recommend it to you.

    PC36IMG-ra-supersonic-3.11-gnm.zip

    Do the same instructions you did with putting on amon ra on there by renaming it to PC36IMG.
     
  7. andygu3

    andygu3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,699
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    4,699
    2,081
    313
    Lewis Center, OH
    Welcome to the darkside Rxpert :beer:
     
    dustwun77 likes this.
  8. MizzouBrent

    MizzouBrent Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,853
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011

    Feb 13, 2011
    2,853
    2,519
    313
    Olathe, KS
    Haha
     
    dustwun77 likes this.
  9. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    623
    Posts:
    4,828
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    4,828
    2,847
    623
    Male
    ET
    SC
    i have been on 3.08 since 3.11 did something weird. I forget what though... got freakin' oldtimer's disease over here. :)

    I like using the cap buttons to navigate recovery with. I forgot it could restore cwm nands. I only have one though. :p

    I use quickboot too, for going into recovery, rebooting, and powering off.

    I do like that tip The Captain put out about holding down both volume buttons along with the power button instead of pulling the battery too.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...