1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Hero - Advice to new user.......

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by happy1, Jan 10, 2010.

  1. happy1

    happy1 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Hello : )

    Have found this forum (its great!!) and need some help if possible......

    Just got an HTC Hero and im in the UK.

    Im having the dreaded wirless router connection problem (thats not my question!) - I cant seem to see any clear cut options to fix the issue, however, I note that some people are not having this trouble, it looks as though it could be to do with the type of wireless router thats used?

    My question is.......is there one brand/model of wireless router that everyone agrees definitely works with the HTC hero, in wireless mode?? Can anyone tell me which models 100% work (im in the UK if that's any help). Im currently using a Netgear 834.

    Of course, if anyone has worked out a fix (!) i would be more than happy to keep on using my current router.

    Thanks : )
     

    Advertisement

  2. bonanno

    bonanno Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    2
    0
    25
    have you check your router setting? dont use WPA2 ..try use WPA ..
     
  3. happy1

    happy1 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Im using WEP, encryption strength 64, g&b mode.....
     
  4. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    I started compiling a list, but it hasn't been updated for a while due to lack of data. You can find it here.
     
  5. peterc10

    peterc10 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    711
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    711
    80
    78
    UK
    I have 2 wireless routers in the house (thick walls). The Belkin F5D9630 in my office area did not work - said it was connected but kept getting the dreaded message. Whereas the Netgear WGR614 (which was wired into the Belkin) covering the other part of house worked fine. So for the office I looked out my old DLink DI524 router that i had retired when I bought the Belkin and wired that into the Belkin. That now works fine.

    So there you are - one that doesn't and two that do.

    I have read elsewhere that the Hero does not like 11n wifi - throttle it back to 11b or g.
     
  6. TheBrit

    TheBrit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,188
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009

    Aug 25, 2009
    1,188
    114
    143
    UK
    BT HomeHub v1 works just fine.
     
  7. greg_stinson

    greg_stinson Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009

    Sep 18, 2009
    13
    0
    15
    My Linksys WAG54G2 is shite with my Hero, intermittent at best is how I would describe performance! :mad:
     
  8. happy1

    happy1 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    OK ...HELP!!!! I have changed my router to WPA2 as slug suggested and hey presto my Hero now works a treat - Thanks so much Slug.....HOWEVER, all my wireless laptops (two old ones and a net book) have stopped working. The main PC (where the wireless router is hard wired) is fine. Stating, limited or no connectivity...... Can anyone HELP !!
     
  9. TheBrit

    TheBrit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,188
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009

    Aug 25, 2009
    1,188
    114
    143
    UK
    The old laptop might not handle WPA2 but I would expect a netbook to be fine.
     
  10. happy1

    happy1 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010

    Jan 9, 2010
    9
    0
    5
    Think I have sorted it - just needed to delete the wirless connection on each laptop and re-establish, inputting network key (even though it was the same). Fingers crossed it keeps on working.......... The forum is really great - thanks to all of you, and in particular Slug.

    Here`s a new question for you....I can receive and send E-mail from my googlemail account from my Hero, but I can only receive email (not reply or send) from the Hero - I just get an error message back saying 'failed' - any ideas??
     
  11. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,551
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,551
    16,993
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Glad you got the router issue sorted. :)

    Via wi-fi? Your email client is likely configured to use your mobile carrier's SMTP (outbound) server, which for security reasons isn't usually allowed if you're not connected to their network.

    One solution: configure two separate accounts, one for connection via mobile network using your carrier's SMTP server and the other via wi-fi using your broadband provider's.

    My preferred solution: forward everything to Googlemail and use that exclusively from the Hero. You can even choose to have replies appear with the same "From:" address as the original receiving account.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...