1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support hero help pls

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by thershow, Feb 26, 2011.

  1. thershow

    thershow Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    hi guys
    i have a hero which has been working fine for ages all i have done is unlock it and done the ota update.
    i went for a run the other day and it seems to have confused my phone. the screen works but on and off its as if it gets confused what it should be doing and trying to do lots of things.
    aguy in cpw said to flash it as its software related.
    now iveread for ages but am not sure what to do as i am not at all tech minded could someone walk me through the process pls??
     

    Advertisement

  2. dan330

    dan330 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    12,076
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010

    Jan 22, 2010
    12,076
    3,685
    1,123
    Unlocked???? what do you mean?

    have you tried a battery pull?

    if you are un-rooted..
    I dont think there is much you can do.. but to do a hard reset of the phone. this wipe all.. and put it back to stock when you first got the phone (i think your updates will still be there). There maybe a small software glitch...and a hard-rest will clean it.

    you can research how to do a hard-rest.. or call sprint customer service from another phone.
     
  3. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    12,993
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,993
    9,554
    1,423
    UK
    He has a GSM Hero, not a CDMA sprint one. Which is why it can be 'unlocked' so that it accepts any network's SIM card.

    But yeah, a factory reset sounds like the way to go. How usable is the phone? Would you be able to run some backup apps first?
     
  4. ticked

    ticked Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I have a hero, smart phone, it was working great, one day i went to use it, the little green lock on the touch screen wouldn't slide open. Now, i can't use my phone at all, we have taken the battery out, nothing, we have put the phone back to factory setting, nothing. How do i get the lock to slide across the screen so i can use my cell phone??????
     
  5. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #20
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    12,993
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,993
    9,554
    1,423
    UK
    Does the screen respond at all? Unfortunately that sounds like a hardware issue that you'd need HTC's help with rather than a software problem, since a factory reset didn't help.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...