1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Hero Specs Dropped on HTC.com

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by phandroid, Jun 24, 2009.

  1. phandroid

    phandroid Admin News Bot
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    663
    Posts:
    10,396
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008

    Apr 12, 2008
    10,396
    382
    663
    Hardware specs are looking mighty impressive on the HTC Hero. A few of the ones that caught my eye:Memory ROM: 512 MBRAM: 288 MBCamera 5.0 megapixel color camera with auto focusBattery Rechargeable Lithium-ion batteryCapacity: 1350 mAhTalk time:Up to 420 minutes for WCDMAUp to 470 minutes for GSMStandby time:Up to 750 hours for WCDMAUp [...]

    More...
     

    Advertisement

  2. athlaig

    athlaig Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008

    Oct 22, 2008
    75
    0
    15
    as nice as this phone looks, is it even worth getting if it comes to america and the phone doesnt have the google stamping on it. i want all the functionality of google, or will the differences not even matter?
     
  3. sergey

    sergey Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    422
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009

    Mar 16, 2009
    422
    29
    63
    reducing the hate on Android and iPhone
    NYC
    Spec-wise, it's the same as the magic, right?

    I like the multitouch, the UI, and most of the design- that chin is horrible though. Also like how HTC tried to tweak the OS for improved battery life. Finally! I hate the lack of memory.

    The big question is how will updates work since it's not a "google" phone? When Donut is released, do HTC Hero owners have to wait until HTC releases the update?

    It's a good update for HTC/Android, but does anybody think that Android is increasingly becoming a European thing? By the time we get the Magic, Europe will have the Dream, Magic, and Hero, along with the Samsung Galaxy.
     
  4. Jayziac

    Jayziac Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009

    Jun 18, 2009
    166
    8
    36
    I'm guessing without the "Google experience" just means less customized apps installed by default. You get a more bare Android OS. But usually doesn't mean you can't get them yourself. It may take more work and a bit of know-how. But there's no reason for Google to disable/block installing their apps on a generic Android phone.
     
  5. homemade-jam

    homemade-jam Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009

    Jun 21, 2009
    14
    0
    15
    Student
    Is the 'sense ui' the official name for Haykuro's rosie?

    I'll be really disappointed if they don't keep all android phones in line with the same OS Version - that was one of the major sellings points!
     
  6. bigshape

    bigshape Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009

    Jun 25, 2009
    12
    0
    35
    as far as i'm aware - rosie/sense is a skin applied to android 1.5 at the o.s. level by htc. (feel free to correct me if i'm wrong though...)
     
  7. paloverde88

    paloverde88 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009

    Jun 14, 2009
    21
    0
    35
    Apparently the biggest disappointment with the hero is no OTA install for apps and not a Google phone means less Google options
     
  8. Esquire0399

    Esquire0399 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009

    Jun 25, 2009
    1
    0
    5
    Student
    US
    From what I read on engadget this is incorrect. Firmware updates will not be OTA, however app installs should still be. Correct me if I'm wrong.
     
  9. paloverde88

    paloverde88 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009

    Jun 14, 2009
    21
    0
    35
    I am still unclear as to whether apps will install OTA on the Hero as this is not clearly stated, all we know is this is not a google phone, as such, HTC might think it not a big deal to not have OTA apps install. Who knows?
    But as you say, it might just be the updates, but even for my magic, it appears there is no updates all the time, which seemed unlikely, every time I go to that update screen, almost instantly it says you have the latest without even first checking with the server at all:eek:
     
  10. Mansn

    Mansn Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009

    Jun 14, 2009
    72
    0
    15
    UK
  11. paloverde88

    paloverde88 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009

    Jun 14, 2009
    21
    0
    35
  12. Jayziac

    Jayziac Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009

    Jun 18, 2009
    166
    8
    36
    OTA app installs should apply for all phones. The firmware you may have to go in to your local carrier store to do because it's a more critical low-level component of the phone, and if something goes wrong, like the wireless connection is disconnected prematurely, it could cripple the device. That's the reason why it may not be applied OTA.
     

Share This Page

Loading...