1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

hero vs magic

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by bigshape, Jun 25, 2009.

  1. bigshape

    bigshape Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009

    Jun 25, 2009
    12
    0
    35
    so now that the specs are out it looks as if the devices are very similar under the cover...

    main hero upgrades over the magic;

    ram - hero 288 v's magic 192
    3.5 headphone jack
    better video support - MPEG-4, H.263, H.264 and Windows Media
     

    Advertisement

  2. danglr09

    danglr09 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009

    Jun 15, 2009
    108
    0
    35
    yea, its better but for u.s. users...the question is when???
    the magic is a good phone too
     
  3. paloverde88

    paloverde88 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009

    Jun 14, 2009
    21
    0
    35
    Hero is not a Google phone and apparently no OTA apps install
     
  4. bobgaron

    bobgaron Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009

    Jun 17, 2009
    33
    0
    15
    Synergy Kettlebell Boot Camp Coach
    Chandler, AZ
    I thought Hero was an Android phone? If not then what is it exactly?

    I really like the Google branded software and will stick with that.
     
  5. blambu56

    blambu56 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009

    Jan 2, 2009
    50
    0
    35
    Director of IT
    Nashville, TN
    The Hero is an Android phone its just not a Google backed phone like the G1. Remember Android is an open OS and can be used for whatever without Google having anything to do with it or being allowed to make OTA updates. This OS can also be used with any carrier without any issues.
     
  6. bobgaron

    bobgaron Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009

    Jun 17, 2009
    33
    0
    15
    Synergy Kettlebell Boot Camp Coach
    Chandler, AZ
    Gotcha. Well for me I'm gonna stick with the Google branded Android ones. I use all their features and apps so might as well. :)

    Oh and it's purty too. LOL
     
  7. my05

    my05 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009

    Feb 25, 2009
    31
    1
    36
    IT
    Stockholm, Sweden
     
  8. Jayziac

    Jayziac Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    166
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009

    Jun 18, 2009
    166
    8
    36
    How is OTA app install related to it being a Google phone? I would imagine at the very least you could use your wi-fi connection, point to a URL and download apps to install directly. It may not have fancy itune-like interface. This can be done by the most generic java-enabled cell phone now.
     
  9. blambu56

    blambu56 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009

    Jan 2, 2009
    50
    0
    35
    Director of IT
    Nashville, TN

    I beleive what they are saying about the OTA updates is that you will not get them automatically and directly from Google like you currently do with a Google branded phone. It doesnt mean that you can't manually download over the air if you so choose. Im talking strictly updates and the pre-installed apps - not the market - I would think that you would have the market and be able to download apps like you currently do.
     
  10. TriC

    TriC Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009

    Also remember there are different versions of the Magic. I know the Magic in Canada has more ram. It has 288meg of ram. And the UK version has only 192meg
    Also the Rogers magic Supports Video Codec: MPEG4 SP, H.263, H.264
     
  11. confiq

    confiq Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009

    Jun 27, 2009
    11
    1
    16
    Question,
    I just bought HTC magic a.k.a. G2. Does G2 has OTA updates?
     
  12. olivierm

    olivierm Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009

    Jun 19, 2009
    66
    5
    16

    First thing mine did when I switched it on for the first time was a OTA update so yes, it does.
     

Share This Page

Loading...