1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root hey guys new to the forum and need some HELP.....

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by haze2276, May 6, 2012.

  1. haze2276

    haze2276 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012

    May 6, 2012
    18
    2
    36
    being great
    Long Island, NY
    Hey guys I unlocked the boot loader on my evo 4g through HTCDev... all went well then I decided to try for s-off using one of the guide I found to do so. I was able to downgrade to hboot 2.10 and then ran unrevoked which Sid it was a triumph. After doing so I checked for root using root checker and I had no root but still had an unwartermarked s_off boot loader. I tried to back track and a site told me to flash ant other img after doing so my fast boot reads as follows

    Supersonic evt3 ship s-off
    Boot - 2.16.0001
    Microp-041f
    Touch panel-ATMEL224_16a
    Radio-2.15.00.05.02
    Mar 8 2011, 17:02:05

    I tried to use unrevoked again and it says firmware to new, and revolutionary. failed to get root. When I try to update su binaries it fails and reads as follows:
    Failed to find currently installed su binary. I tried to reflash but now when I try recovery in fasboot I get a phone symbol with a caution graphic. Sorry for the long post just trying to give as much details as possibl:e , is their a way to start over if there is no fix for this I really want root with s-off for wifi tethering.....hanks in advance for all the help
     

    Advertisement

  2. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    Welcome to AF!!!! Well according to your post, you have S-OFF, which is full root. It sounds like you have a broken/missing custom recovery. Try flashing Amon RA 2.3 from here (it'll be named PC36IMG_RA_2.3.zip), place onto root directory of sd card (topmost level and not in any folders), boot to hboot and select "Update" when prompted. Once completed, boot to hboot and choose "Recovery". Let us know what happens.

    Don't forget to rename the file to PC36IMG.zip or the file won't be read when your Evo scans for it.
     
    Granite1, ocnbrze and haze2276 like this.
  3. haze2276

    haze2276 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012

    May 6, 2012
    18
    2
    36
    being great
    Long Island, NY
    I will try it and let you know what happens..... is there a way to start over if it do sent correct the problem.....
     
  4. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    There's always a way ;), let's just try this first.
     
    argedion likes this.
  5. haze2276

    haze2276 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012

    May 6, 2012
    18
    2
    36
    being great
    Long Island, NY
    I will try as soon as I get home from work and let you know ... thanks again ?....
     
  6. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    unrevoked will not work as your hboot is different now. it only works with hboot 2.10. and hboot 2.16 should work with revolutionary (but there is no need as you have s-off already).

    you have to be careful when messing around with your phone and not knowing what will happen. not sure what guides you were reading, but the reason you did not have root access the first time was because you did not have a recovery and thus did not flash the su like frenchy said. once you get a custom recovery then all you will need to do is flash the su file (you can get it here:Superuser-3.0.7-efghi-signed.zip). once you have su downloaded then you will need to flash it in recovery.

    or

    you can just flash a custom rom that has su cooked in. i would suggest mikg3.11. it is waaaaaaaay better then stock IMO. you can get here:MikG v3.11 [3/9/2012]. download the full wipe version.
     
    Granite1, frenchy714 and argedion like this.
  7. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Sounds to me like he's just missing superuser. Getting s off turns off the phones securities, you need the superuser app that ocn linked to get superuser rights on the stock Rom.

    I would suggest flashing a custom rooted Rom as well
     
    frenchy714, argedion and ocnbrze like this.
  8. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,292
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    Here is the Recovery you will want Amon RA Its the one highly recommended around here. Also Before doing anything else to the phone after you have recovery and flash the superuser file Ocean linked to make sure you do a Nandroid.

    In Amon Ra choose backup / restore and choose backup this will create a Nandroid. You will want to do these every so often and Especially after you have the phone setup the way you want it. I Also recommend you get the Pro version of Titanium Backup. It's worth every penny + some. Here is a decent Guide to get you started with TB. If you have any more questions please feel free to ask. We are here to help.

    For Titanium you will need to download this first. Titanium Backup Root

    Then purchase the ProKey. Titanium Backup ProKey.
     
    frenchy714 and ocnbrze like this.
  9. haze2276

    haze2276 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012

    May 6, 2012
    18
    2
    36
    being great
    Long Island, NY
    Do I have to run cmd prompt or just put on root of SD card and power up bootloader
     
  10. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    You would install the custom recovery from the bootloader and flash the superuser file in recovery (like you would a ROM or Kernel).
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  11. haze2276

    haze2276 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012

    May 6, 2012
    18
    2
    36
    being great
    Long Island, NY
    plugged my phone into comp set it to disk driv opened it up put PC36IMG.zip on phone and rebooted bootloader and nothing is happening i used to get a bar on side showing some kind of loading but nothing now i cant understand it it just goes through the hboot with out even seeing it
     
  12. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    747
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak
    the PC36IMG.zip file needs to be on the root of the sd card (unlike stuff you flash from recovery, which can be anywhere on the sd card, just so long as you are able to find it LoL) due to the lack of ability to navigate in the hboot to find the file. It scans the root of the sd card to find files named exactly that. Oh, and make sure that you dont name the file PC36IMG.zip.zip (which is a mistake easily made, so dont facepalm too hard if you inadvertently did that)
     
    frenchy714 and Granite1 like this.
  13. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    747
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak
    you could also try a fresh download of the file. its possible that the file was corrupted during download. it cant hurt to give it another download and try to reinstall it
     
  14. youdoofus

    youdoofus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    2,131
    747
    213
    Tech support rep for Knology
    so dak
    hey granite, do you ever find yourself anxiously awaiting the paul harveyesque "the rest of the story" in here?
     
  15. haze2276

    haze2276 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012

    May 6, 2012
    18
    2
    36
    being great
    Long Island, NY
    I got I guys ... yes it was the zip.zip lol all done installed recovery and made a nandroid backup the flasked the from ocean recommended. Everything is working great . Thanks again guys I wouldn't have been able to doit myself . Thanks again.
     
    Rxpert83 and ocnbrze like this.
  16. argedion

    argedion The TechnoFrog
    Rank:
     #28
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    6,360
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    6,360
    6,292
    953
    The Infernal Swamp
    I know I do. I like to find out how something worked out.
     
  17. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,595
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,595
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    no worries. glad it worked. keep us posted on how you like mikg. now go and get your flash on:D
     
  18. haze2276

    haze2276 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    May 6, 2012

    May 6, 2012
    18
    2
    36
    being great
    Long Island, NY
    Hey guys was just doing some reading on kernels and although I am not fully up to snuff with the process I was wondering which one you would recommend and the advantages of changing it as I am really liking the MIKG v 3.11 rom .....
     
  19. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Anthrax is king for sense as far as performance goes. Less lag, better sounding music due to beats being baked in, better game performance.

    For battery, aggressive freedom is great for me, but not all phones can handle it
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...