1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Hey guys. Quick rom question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by funkylogik, Feb 14, 2014.

  1. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Hey peeps.
    So my wife is planning to swap her crappy windows phone for a samsung. At first we thought it was an s2 but the girl got it wrong and its actually an Ace 2.
    My mum has an ace 2 and tbh it feels horribly laggy and unresponsive.
    Im a root/flashaholic though so if my wife does get it, ill do what i can to pimp it up.
    So, how well supported is it for roms and kernels? How overclockable is it?
    Will it run kitkat?
    Thanks guys :beer:

    Oh p.s, it will be an international version (UK)
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,894
    843
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    Aside from anything else:

    Ace2:
    768MB RAM
    4GB Total storage
    Dual core 800MHz NovaThor

    S2:
    1GB RAM
    16/32GB Total storage
    Dual core 1.2GHz A9

    Unless there's a specific reason for the Ace2 ...
     
  3. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Reread the question lol.
    The s2 thing was just small talk. She wanted an s2 but can only get the Ace 2. I know the specs, i just want to know how improvable (new word) it is ;)
     
  4. Smokey Mc Pot

    Smokey Mc Pot Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013

    Apr 9, 2013
    255
    108
    68

    http://androidforums.com/showthread.php?p=5750102

    http://androidforums.com/showthread.php?p=5732314

    http://androidforums.com/showthread.php?p=6291773


    http://androidforums.com/showthread.php?p=6153417

    * The last link needs to be updated.
    You better look in xda for the latest cooked rooms.

    :(You can't overclock the ace 2!
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  5. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Nice one, cheers smokey (great name lol)
    Ill have a read. Any idea why it cant be OCd? :beer:
     
  6. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    She got the phone tonight, ill root and flash it tomorrow.
    Can anyone tell me if CM11 for the ace2 has ART?
     
  7. DarnJhud

    DarnJhud Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    28
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012

    Nov 7, 2012
    28
    1
    16
    Male
    Computer Science Student
    Earth
    there should be, but I guess your question is suppose to be "Is it safe to enable ART on CM11?"
    luckily for you someone already asked that :) check it
    [Q] Is it safe to enable ART on CM11? - xda-developers

    and oh, CM11 is not stable yet,
    Im using CM10.2 now but if ever u tried CM11 can u give me a feedback if it's ok for daily use?
    thanks :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...