1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support hi guy, I need your help!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Aston Chua, Jul 14, 2011.

  1. Aston Chua

    Aston Chua Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011

    Jul 14, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    I bought a flytouch3 last week ago. I tried to connect my usb flash drive to my flytouch3, yes it did and detected. However when I connected with my external harddisk (formatted with NTSF), my flytouch 3 can't detected. For this, I tried it with 2 diff. harddisk. One is mine and one is my friend. Whn I connect mine one hdd to flytouch, nthg happen. mine flytouch can't detected it. But when I connected my friend's hdd (formated with NTFS)to my flytouch, yes it detected but show memory blank or unsupported file system. So, anything I can do to connect my hdd to my fly touch. My hdd is toshiba 2.5" 320GB as shown below.http://www.geeky-gadgets.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/01/toshiba-500gb-portable-hdd1.jpg
     

    Advertisement

  2. dart16

    dart16 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    632
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    632
    100
    93
    First off..I suggest you try partitioning your 320GB drive into something smaller...try 120GB.. I know that works! If that still doesn't work then it sounds like either your 2.5" hdd caddy, or the Toshiba HDD is not functioning correctly, possibly because of lack of power..Does your caddy have a separate power in socket? I have a cheap Fujitsu MHW2120BH 120GB sata drive in a cheap Pluscom C212-SPIF215 caddy, and it works fine, without external power, formatted FAT32.... NTFS is not recognised in TF3's
     
  3. Aston Chua

    Aston Chua Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011

    Jul 14, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    How to partitioning my hdd? I am noob in this. Then i need to put my hdd into a caddy? After that, I need to format my hdd with FAT32?
     
  4. dart16

    dart16 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    632
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    632
    100
    93
    Download Mini Tool Partition Wizard Home. Free Download Magic Partition Manager Software - Partition Wizard Online

    This will enable you to partition your drive. MAKE SURE YOU SELECT YOUR EXTERNAL DRIVE, or else you will FUBAR your windows computer...better get some help if you are unsure.

    The software will ask you what format you want on the new partition... select Fat32

    You do realise that partitioning the drive will destroy all data you currently have on the drive don't you?

    Your HDD must already be in a caddy if you have already connected it to the Tablet.. the 'Toshiba' box is the caddy.
     
    Aston Chua likes this.
  5. Aston Chua

    Aston Chua Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011

    Jul 14, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    ok thx dude. will try it now..
     
  6. Aston Chua

    Aston Chua Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011

    Jul 14, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    After I change a new caddy, finally My flytouch detected my hdd. However it showed to me that "Memory device damaged. You may have to reformat it." Any solutions ??
     
  7. weltall

    weltall Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    194
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011

    Jun 26, 2011
    194
    14
    38
    I am not sure if my suggestion will help but maybe you can use MiniTool Partition Wizard Home edition to format it to fat32.

    Also you did not answer if your HDD has an external power or just usb. It could be because the tablet's inability to give enough power that you get errors.

    I mounter my 250gb external HDD in it . Its a portable one not one with a power adapter, just usb. As long as I had the USB Debug turned on my tablet was able to see it. But it would just unmount it as soon as it got mounted even if I would mount it through the options.

    Extra info:
    Yes the partitions need to be small but as far as I know using certain programs could let you format a HDD up to 8TB to fat32. The problems with fat32 partitions is that at certain cases they generate errors if they are too big. I remember back in time i looked it up too wondering how much was the max and every site mentioned that the safe size is 32GB.
     
    Aston Chua likes this.
  8. dart16

    dart16 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    632
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    632
    100
    93
    Yes, you will have to re-format it FAT32....NTFS is not supported.
    120GB partition size works...anybody got a bigger one working??:eek:;)
     
  9. Aston Chua

    Aston Chua Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011

    Jul 14, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    mine one same as you. my HDD is usb only, don't have separate power in socket.
    Hwever finally I solved it!!
    First I upgrade my flytouch3 to tim5a, can get from here (SuperPad2 Flytouch3 Hybrid Tim Rom) After that I format my HDD wth FAT32 as u suggest. And now my flytouch can detect my HDD without partitioning my HDD. Thx all ur guy for the helped!:):)
     
  10. dart16

    dart16 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    632
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    632
    100
    93
    Ok... great....so 320GB is seen ok then?
     
  11. Aston Chua

    Aston Chua Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011

    Jul 14, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    now my flytouch 3 no problem in detecting my HDD. However now I am transfer some video to my HDD and thn see my flytouch can play the video in the HDD or not~
     
  12. Aston Chua

    Aston Chua Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011

    Jul 14, 2011
    7
    0
    5
    Tested! Don't have any problem with that, can watch a video smoothly inside HDD through my tablet. Can copy and pasted from and into the HDD. Working great!
     

Share This Page

Loading...