• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Hi i'm Conor

irishgandalf

Sep 10, 2008
Hi i'm a 22 year old student from Dublin, Ireland. I've been interested in the android project for a while now (looking at news on engadget and gizmodo every so often). What attracted me to the android project was the face that the iphone looked so finger friendly (i've an ipod touch so i can verify). But i hate the on screen keyboard and the shit. The HTC Dream with the slide out qwerty keyboard deff appeals to me. Also the Open source nature of the OS is a huge plus (you need only look at firefox and ubuntu to see that community supported apps are the best way to go).

/rant

Welcome, Connor!

I totally agree with your thoughts. However I think the Open Source system is the biggest plus. I'm a big fan of physical QWERTYs (I have an LG Voyager) but since Android is Open Source you knew that some Android Phone would have this form factor at some point.

In any case welcome to AF and enjoy your stay!

Upvote 0
Also the Open source nature of the OS is a huge plus (you need only look at firefox and ubuntu to see that community supported apps are the best way to go).

Welcome Conor!

Long story short, I tried Linux four or five years ago, ended up going back to Windows. About a month ago I decided to give 'er a go again and wow, Linux has come a long way over the years. I put Ubunutu Server on one box and Desktop on another, and ... you're right. The community behind Ubunutu is amazing. I've only had a couple speed bumps along the way and I can thank the community (and my googlin' skillz) for speedy resolutions. One guy even wrote a script that I have run at startup that helps me meet one of goals I needed.