• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Hi, I'm new

Hey,

Just joined the forum so I figured I'd follow good forum etiquette and say hello in the introductions section.

I'm an EMT from upstate NY and I have a DroidX on, unfortunately, Verizon. I am here to hopefully learn how to backup my phone, then root it, to freeze and/or delete some of the stock apps that came with the phone and some of the junk Verizon keeps forcing on its users. I have a year to go on my contract so changing carriers isn't currently an option for me.

At any rate, I'm here to learn. I want to get rid of some of the junk on my phone, which will make me a much happier camper, but as I've never done this before, I need help. So I'm gonna start checking some of the sections to find instructions.

Hello and welcome to Android Forums. Thanks for taking the time to say hello. It sounds like you are interested in rooting your phone. With root you can rid yourself of some of the bloatware and achieve a complete backup. This is a link to the root section for your Droid X. Droid X - All Things Root - Android Forums You will want to read up before attempting root. Remember, take time to understand the process and proceed carefully. Have fun and thanks for joining the community.

Upvote 0
Hi,

Thanks so much for the nice (and super fast!) welcome. I figured I would join a forum so if things ever went south, I'd have a place to ask for help.

I've had my DroidX since last February and really like it, it just bothers me that there is so much useless stuff included with it ... like Blockbuster video, Amazon MP3s, etc. that I will never, ever use, and now Verizon is pushing its stupid backup thing, too.