1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Hiding messages - possible?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by HFC123, Apr 12, 2016.

1. HFC123

HFC123 Lurker
    None

Apr 12, 2016
    Hi,

Can anyone tell me how to hide messages on an S7 Edge running Marshmallow that isn't jailbroken?

I am new to android, but seems as though all the apps that claim to do this haven't worked since Lolipop 5.0......

Would it work to have a seperate messaging app for some contacts, and then hide that app using another app?

Any suggestions very welcome!

Advertisement

2. Thom

Thom  
    VIP Member

Feb 16, 2011
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Welcome to Android Forums.

Some clarification is needed. What do you mean by "hide messages"? What are you trying to segregate from what?

... Thom

3. HFC123

HFC123 Lurker
    None

Apr 12, 2016
    The ideal would be to hide WhatsApp messages with a single contact, but i get the impression that this is impossible without jailbreaking.

The next best option would be to have sms messages from some contacts sent to a different location to others. I had hoped that something like NQ Vault would do this, but since android 5.0 that seems impossible. Would be great to be shown otherwise.

My final thought is to communicate with some contacts exclusively though email, and then hide the app used to do so.

Is there anything i am missing? For example, something using a different launcher?

Any help appreciated!

#3 HFC123, Apr 12, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2016
  4. Dorian2kx

Dorian2kx Member

Aug 31, 2014
    I would also like to know how to hide messages on Whatsapp, I'm rooted with lollipop

5. electricpete

electricpete Android Expert

Jan 7, 2012
    Male
    Electrical Engineer
  6. HFC123

HFC123 Lurker
    None

Apr 12, 2016
    These apps are precisely the ones that don't work with Marshmallow....