1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Hmm..so no going to ota if I installed leaked version 3?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by barracade, May 27, 2010.

  1. barracade

    barracade Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Damn...Im so confused...can I factory reset my eris back to 1.5? Any help would really be appreciated..
     

    Advertisement

  2. RMB

    RMB Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    45
    1
    16
    Not according to any thread I've browsed, but then these things change week-in and week-out.
     
  3. barracade

    barracade Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    arg..having no patience got me again...DAMNiT
     
  4. RMB

    RMB Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    45
    1
    16
    What's the drawback? I thought V3 was the OTA?
     
  5. barracade

    barracade Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    I would feel a heck of a lot better if someone told me for sure its the same...FOR FACT
     
  6. byteware

    byteware Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,140
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010

    Feb 18, 2010
    2,140
    210
    143
    Application Developer
    Alabama
    Caddy, who released V3 has stated definitively that they are the same.

    However, the leaks have a different bootloader so we cannot get ROOT, or install OTA updates.
     
    barracade likes this.
  7. refthemc

    refthemc Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    167
    8
    36
    Los Angeles, CA
    Leak 3 is the official Verizon 2.1
     
    barracade likes this.
  8. barracade

    barracade Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    can we go back to factory? if so how?
     
  9. barracade

    barracade Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    May 22, 2010

    May 22, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    The reason i ask is because....my signal strength is pretty low at 1 bar until i am actually on a call then it goes up to 4...just wondering if that would not have been an issue if i waited for the ota?
     
  10. natbet

    natbet Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    30
    1
    16
    System Technician
    Fargo
    you can do a factory reset, but that will not bring you back to 1.5. As of right now there is no way to go back to 1.5. But since the 2.1v3 leak is the same as the official OTA you have nothing to worry about.
     
    barracade likes this.
  11. Haxcid

    Haxcid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    413
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    413
    29
    43
    That is actually how it is supposed to work. There is nothing wrong with your phone.
     
    barracade and thenestor like this.
  12. bosh

    bosh Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    27
    3
    16
    A buddy of mine at work has a new Eris with the OTA 2.1 and I can't tell it from my V3 leak version. Seemed exactly the same to me.
     
    barracade likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...