1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General holy crap! 4g

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mrdrh99, Apr 22, 2012.

  1. mrdrh99

    mrdrh99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010

    Aug 11, 2010
    155
    9
    36
    I have a moto bionic and live in little 'ol Martinsville, va. They are turning on 4g here, although not currently announced, and I just had speed test results of 21.58 down and 9.03 up! Is this unheard of? Or will it go down when more people start using 4g in the area?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. smguy101

    smguy101 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    97
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010

    Jan 24, 2010
    97
    9
    16
    Military
    El Paso, TX/Colorado Springs, CO
    It was hovering around that number up here when 4G first came out in Colorado Springs. Right now though since there are probably a lot more 4G phones out there it's been hovering at around 6-7 down and 5-6 up.
     
  3. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Mine just got turned on earlier this wek - I saw it Sat morning and did a speed test 14.xx down *and* up.

    Did one today and it was more like 16 and 9.

    just did three now so we can get a decent average in - here they are:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  4. as439726

    as439726 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    May 23, 2009

    May 23, 2009
    439
    43
    43
  5. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    I like it better when my DL speed is lower than 20 - I'd rather have a 14 mbit upstream, since my Cable connection is limited to 5 lol
     
  6. wildkitten

    wildkitten Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    609
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2011

    Dec 30, 2011
    609
    75
    78
    Alabama
    I have seen quite a few people put up speed tests over well over 20Mb/s. For me, I haven't see anything above 13 or 14Mb/s. How does bandwidth on a cell phone work exactly? Is there a set bandwidth to each phone, or is it a total bandwidth per tower and every phone on that tower shares that bandwidth?
     
  7. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
  8. BigCiX

    BigCiX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    3,592
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    3,592
    363
    273
    California
    I'm lucky to get 3 mbps on my hspa+ with at&t.
     
  9. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    I was lucky to get over 1.2 Mbps on my 3G, so I feel your pain....
     
  10. Satires

    Satires Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    772
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012

    Jan 28, 2012
    772
    123
    113
    Employed schmuck (For now).
    Nowhere land..
    I agree with att sucks! I had my dsl shut off and just run my webtop now. Funny, I was in the att store paying my bill for my home internet service and the rep asked me whom I with. I told him I am with Verizon.

    He smuggly says "Oh, you should come to att". I just laughed and told him I used to be a smartphone customer with att and Verizon smokes their network, plus I'm grandfathered in with unlimited. I have no reason to switch.

    I think it's terrible what they did to their grandfathered customers... :(

    That's part of the reason I ditched their dsl! Sort of like a boycott of my own. :)
     
  11. as439726

    as439726 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    439
    Joined:
    May 23, 2009

    May 23, 2009
    439
    43
    43
    At&t and MS are in the same class as far as I'm concerned. Yuck
     
  12. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    I do have to add, though, that I'm now experiencing the same issues as everyone else who routinely travels to/from 4G to 3G....
     
  13. breadnatty08

    breadnatty08 pain rustique
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    19,888
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    19,888
    6,121
    1,413
    District of Columbia
    When I got my Bionic on launch day I was seeing amazing numbers like you are now. 6 months later things have slowed down quite a bit since the area is more saturated with 4G users. It's all a matter of time.
     
  14. yewslus

    yewslus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    31
    3
    16
    Telecom (PBX) Engineer
    New Joisey
    Hackensack, NJ and I'm getting 10 down and 9 up. Did I mention I'm in the middle of a brick office building, 40' from the nearest window?

    Can anyone tell me how much data is used during a speedtest?

    <ahem> JohnGalt?
     
  15. PowerBomb

    PowerBomb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    542
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    542
    104
    93
    Chicago
    I live in a major city and I just got 24 down 11 up.
     
  16. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Not sure exactly, but guessing at the time it takes, plus how much data had been used by speed test thus far, I think around 10 - 15 per test.
     
  17. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,453
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,453
    1,957
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    I just checked. Before running a test the data usage was 123 MB. After it was 143 MB. So, looks like it is 20 MB per test.
     

Share This Page

Loading...