1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support home panel

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nebler, Nov 10, 2013.

  1. nebler

    nebler Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    302
    10
    38
    Paramedic
    Cornwall UK
    Hi, I have 5 panels set up, inc the Google now panel, and was wondering if it can be set so the middle panel shows when the home button is pressed?

    Or will it always be the far left panel?

    And yes, I've said "panel" a lot, lol
     

    Advertisement

  2. shelliewnj

    shelliewnj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    848
    Joined:
    May 24, 2012

    May 24, 2012
    848
    199
    93
    Female
    From what I understand, it's always the far left panel
     
  3. Gatman

    Gatman Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #457
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    279
    69
    53
    Male
    Bean counter
    Cleveland, OH
    My research turned up the same answer shelliewnj posted above. This is messing with my anal-retentive tendencies (and maybe a touch of OCD).

    Many of my wallpapers are set up so they are centered when the home screen is in the middle. For example, I have one of a planet in outerspace with stars around it. On the N5, the planet is off to the right because the wallpaper has the planet centered. So on my old RAZR Maxx, I had 5 panels and the middle one was the "home" one. Everything lined up nicely. On the N5, the planet is partially cut off on the right side because it's centering it on the panel to the right of the home screen.

    Grrrr. I guess I'll need to edit these to chop off part of the left side to try and line it up. Anyone have any suggestions on dimensions? Will it depend on how many panels I set up (I'm thinking it might)? I've selected a patterned wallpaper in the meantime, since that doesn't have a definite middle and it works fine.

    Thanks,

    Gary
     
  4. critcher

    critcher Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012

    Feb 8, 2012
    95
    12
    18
    You could try a different launcher. Apex or Nova are both very good, with loads of customization options.
     
  5. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,940
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,940
    13,151
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Yup, that would give you the old launcher style you're used to. However, you'll love google now integration of the launcher as well as the OK google hotword listening
     
  6. nebler

    nebler Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    302
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    302
    10
    38
    Paramedic
    Cornwall UK
    Yeah don't really want to install a new launcher just yet. Guess I'll get used to the new system. Thanks.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...