1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Home screen clock - I don't get it.

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by jfoust, Mar 23, 2010.

  1. jfoust

    jfoust Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    13
    2
    16
    It seems like everyone uses a home screen clock of some sorts, so I figured I was missing out...

    I tried a few, but can't get over how much screen real estate you lose! What's the point of losing 4 icons just to see the time, which is plainly displayed on the top of the screen already??? I have the stock Moto power bar up there, which is very helpful, but it takes up 4 spots too. Am I missing something, or do people just need to have the clock that big in their face all the time?

    BTW, I went from a Palm OS Treo to a WinMo Treo (and iPod touch) and then finally got the Droid back in January and I couldn't be happier!! Android is everything I thought it would be and then some :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,872
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    1,872
    556
    213
    Cary, NC
    It sounds like you just have different preferences.

    Though keep in mind that not everyone uses a clock. Most people that post their screen shots use a clock widget because it looks cool and works well with their overall theme. How great would a screenshot of a home screen look if it was just plain with 16icons?

    If find one you like, use it. If you prefer efficiency, then don't use it. However, keep in mind that some of those clock widgets also include the instant current weather viewing, a 1-touch 3-day forecast, 1-touch alarm clock setting access, and 1-touch calendar access. So those widgets may not be as much of a waste of space as they look.
     
  3. jfoust

    jfoust Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    13
    2
    16
    Which one has one touch access to all that? I would be down for something like that, but the ones I've looked at are just big clunky clocks that seem like a waste of space... Something with some additional function to it would be great. Right now I have a weather widget, calendar link, etc, so if all that could be rolled into something cool looking and functional, I'd be all for it!
     
  4. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,872
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    1,872
    556
    213
    Cary, NC
    Beautiful widgets. There are many different skins to choose from, and they all display current weather, date, and time, and I think they all have options for 4x1 or 4x2 viewing.

    If you touch the clock image part, it will open the alarm clock access. If you touch the weather pic of the sun/moon/clouds/whatever, it will pop of your 3-day forecast. And if you touch the date it will open the calendar.:)
     
  5. i VTAK

    i VTAK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    787
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    787
    73
    98
    Indiana,USA
    I just love the look of my homescreen clock. Plus it has an alarm, countdown timer, and weather integrated in it.
     
  6. jfoust

    jfoust Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    13
    2
    16
    Thanks CriticalCritic! I looked at that one once upon a time, but they didn't have a trial and I wasn't sure I would like it. I guess at $1.50 it's not that big of a deal to take that hit if I absolutely hate it!
     
  7. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,872
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    1,872
    556
    213
    Cary, NC
    NP. Keep in mind that all purchases on the Market have a 24hr trial period in which you can return it for a full refund.
     
  8. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,872
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    1,872
    556
    213
    Cary, NC
    A countdown timer? That's awesome! What are you using:thinking:
     
    jfoust likes this.
  9. jfoust

    jfoust Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    13
    2
    16
    Just bought it - ended up being about two bucks with the crappy exchange rate. Still not bad. I like it so far.. Not so much for the clock, but for the weather display, date, and quick access to alarm, forecast, calendar, etc, all from within.

    I added the brightness widget too, which was the main thing I used on the old Power Center or whatever it's called, and I still had a free space on my Home Screen to add AK Notepad, which I seem to use a good bit, so I actually gained space from what I thought was a "waste of real estate"! :)
     
  10. jfoust

    jfoust Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    13
    2
    16
    BTW, is there a way to change settings/skins without having to trash the widget and then put it back on the hone screen? Doing that every time I want to try out a new skin or something kind of sucks!

    Edit - google is my friend! "Tap on the weather icon on the widget... the animation will pop up.... then just press the menu button. Settings/Skins/Refresh will all be right there".
     
  11. macprv

    macprv Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    337
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010

    Mar 16, 2010
    337
    47
    43
    Seem like im not alone... i do too think you loose to much of space for the clock widget (yeah it looks cool tough), and since i dont like to unlock my phone to just look at the time, i do not use a clock widget.. besides theres a clock on the noti-bar:D
     
  12. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,872
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    Nov 9, 2009
    1,872
    556
    213
    Cary, NC
    Edit: nvm, you got it
     
  13. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,616
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    1,616
    243
    143
    Driver
    W Midlands, UK
    Funny I was just thinking the same thing this morning and got rid of my home screen clock. As you say there is already on on the notification bar and on the lock screen.
     
  14. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,616
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    1,616
    243
    143
    Driver
    W Midlands, UK
    HTC Clock

    [​IMG]

    If you click on the clock it brings up options for Alarms, Countdown, Timer and world time.
     
  15. i VTAK

    i VTAK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    787
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    787
    73
    98
    Indiana,USA

    Yup, stock Sense. It's the clock that came preinstalled.
     
  16. TheSultan

    TheSultan Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,482
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010

    Mar 6, 2010
    1,482
    255
    183
    Operations Manager
    Rochester, NY
    I don't have a clock on my home screen...but I do have one all the way over on my 7th screen. That way I can get to my alarm easily.
     
  17. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,616
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    1,616
    243
    143
    Driver
    W Midlands, UK
    Why not just have a shortcut to the app 'Clock', it takes you to the same place but won't use the resources that the Clock widget does.
     
  18. takeshi

    takeshi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,354
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009

    Dec 6, 2009
    3,354
    283
    163
    I don't.

    It's like anything else -- if you don't get the point then why fret over it? Don't use it. Easy.

    Life's too short to worry about every single thing out there that you don't get IMO.
     
  19. fuss

    fuss Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I really like that clock - is there a way to get that on the devour?

    If not, can anybody point out a good, large homescreen clock in a digital format, or one like pictures above?
     
  20. grainysand

    grainysand Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    1,580
    175
    143
    You're looking for Beautiful Widgets or Weather Widget Donate. The HTC clock widget is not portable to any other UI or even stock Android, since it's got dependencies on HTC's rosie framework.
     
  21. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    I have sense ui on my moment >.>
     
  22. grainysand

    grainysand Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,580
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010

    Feb 4, 2010
    1,580
    175
    143
    Try clearing defaults and switching back to vanilla Android launcher; you'll suddenly find you can't use HTC's widgets anymore.
     
  23. jimdroid

    jimdroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    805
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    805
    106
    93
    SF Bay Area
    Two words: Reading Glasses
     
  24. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    Ok ok I admit! Its a sense ui ripoff! Waahhhh
     
  25. vlgolf

    vlgolf Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    How can I get back that original clock on the home screen? I lost it somehow
     

Share This Page

Loading...