1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Home Screen Does Not Come Up

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Foswick, Sep 12, 2012.

  1. Foswick

    Foswick Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012

    Sep 12, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    OK, this falls under the heading of all of the disclaimers about rooting, and why you should be careful. But, I've broken something and need to throw myself on the mercy of the community to see if I can fix it without too much pain.

    I've got an HTC Evo Shift 4G, and finally got around to rooting it last night so I could remove all of the factory-install garbage I didn't think I wanted. Rooting was fairly painless. I installed Android Terminal Emulator and went into /system/app and started removing files for things like Facebook, Kindle, etc. that I don't use.

    I also removed a number of HTC widgets, weather, news, and stock apps/services, etc. Where I'm pretty sure I went wrong is in removing something related to HTC Sense that I shouldn't have (or which I should have gone about differently).

    But, the bottom line is ... here's what the phone does now:

    • When I power it up, it will not go past the "HTC Quietly brilliant" splash.
    • If a call comes in, it will go to the incoming call screen and I can answer the call.
    • That screen work normally, except that I cannot leave that screen - like to go to the home screen.
    • Once I'm on the call screen, I see notifications at the top of the screen (incoming emails, etc.), but I cannot drag the notification area down to do anything about them.
    Here's where my Android ignorance shows through (I'm a desktop software engineer). It just seems like the software the phone wants to use as a desktop manager (akin to "windows.exe"), just isn't there (i.e. I deleted it).


    My assumptions are that I ought to be able to find the necessary files and somehow get them back onto my phone ... or ... I ought to be able to modify the boot process in some way such that the phone doesn't try to use HTC's proprietary interface (HTC Sense?) with something else - or Android's native UI.


    I can connect to the phone with ADB with no problems.


    Any help would be greatly appreciated.


    Cheers,
    -Tom
     

    Advertisement

  2. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #6
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    28,555
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    28,555
    21,996
    3,118
    Male
    Next to you
    Welcome Foswick!
    Well, you are in the Evo 4g forums ...you said you had the shift?
    ARe you rooted or unrooted/stock?
    I would assume rooted as you used Terminal Emulator to remove system files?
    What rom are you running?
    The reason I ask is, sometimes you can pull the apk and odex from the rom .zip file, transfer to the /system/app, set permissions and reboot.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  3. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!!
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,923
    Posts:
    23,596
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    23,596
    14,436
    1,923
    Male
    being a flashaholic sponsor, helping others gettin
    los angeles
    welcome to the forums!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    i moved you to the evo shift root section. folks here can hopefully help you out.
     
    Mikestony likes this.
  4. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #36
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,772
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,772
    1,819
    693
    Male
    USA
    If you rooted, you should have a custom recovery like Clockword Mod. Can you access recovery?
     
  5. CNexus

    CNexus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    May 18, 2012

    May 18, 2012
    37
    13
    18
    If nothing else works, you could always RUU back to stock and then root again, making sure you don't delete important HTC apps the second time around :D
    I believe that there are also programs out there that remove the "bloatware" for you so that you don't accidentally modify important system files
     

Share This Page

Loading...