1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Home screen with Go Launcher

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by fonduekid, May 1, 2012.

  1. fonduekid

    fonduekid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012

    Mar 13, 2012
    70
    1
    36
    Helsinki
    Hi People,

    With the Go Launcher, I am not able to get to the home screen by pressing the home button (SGS2).

    Yes, I've set the home screen (# 3, out of a total of 5 windows) and I can see the green home button too. But when I press the home button on the SGS2 phone, it doesn't take me to the home screen.

    Can someone please tell me if I'm missing some trick somewhere?

    Thanks a lot in advance. Cheers..
     

    Advertisement

  2. Adauth

    Adauth Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,664
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    1,664
    204
    163
    Male
    Oil and gas industry.
    New Orleans
    No experience with your phone, but I have no problems with my razr getting back to the home screen with GO Launcher. Try restarting the launcher and phone?
     
  3. Adauth

    Adauth Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,664
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    1,664
    204
    163
    Male
    Oil and gas industry.
    New Orleans
    Actually check the settings , I think there's an option for home key action with the launcher.
     
  4. fonduekid

    fonduekid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012

    Mar 13, 2012
    70
    1
    36
    Helsinki
    Thanks a lot for the replies.

    Hi, tried restarting launcher / phone - but still doesn't work :(

    Yes, I've checked in the settings and I see home key action enabled to show the home screen under gesture settings.. was that the setting you were referring to?

    I don't see any other place where I can configure the home button setting?
     
  5. Adauth

    Adauth Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,664
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    1,664
    204
    163
    Male
    Oil and gas industry.
    New Orleans
    Yes it was. Sorry im out of ideas. :(
     
  6. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #25
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,149
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,149
    4,822
    1,108
    Male
    If you were inside an app, pressing home button goes to the homescreen you were viewing the last time. A second press of the button brings you to main screen.
     
    damewolf13 likes this.
  7. fonduekid

    fonduekid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012

    Mar 13, 2012
    70
    1
    36
    Helsinki
    Thanks..

    But no, for some reason, it doesn't..

    It doesn't work either when I try to go from an app to the home screen or when trying to go to the home screen from another screen (for ex., home screen is #3 and if I try to go home #5 to #3 by pressing the home button, nothing happens).
     
  8. scoson

    scoson Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011

    Oct 13, 2011
    215
    44
    43
    Hey you didn't say what GO build it was did you? You should go post on GO
    blog, I have a few times. You might find a solution but for me I stopped at
    2.85, that's the final build I'm using for the forseeable future. They made it a little different/bloated starting 2.86, I didn't like all the changes they did with folders and crap.

    GO Launcher | GO?? | Offical blog of GO Launcher
     
  9. GrenW

    GrenW Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    799
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    799
    130
    93
    UK
    Does the screen sort of flicker as if its registered your home key but then not done anything?

    I had this issue with Go and found that it was linked to using pin lock on the lockscreen. Never really investigated it too far as I just removed the pin lock and since moving to ICS have droppd Go altogether.
     
  10. fonduekid

    fonduekid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012

    Mar 13, 2012
    70
    1
    36
    Helsinki
    Thanks for the messages.

    I am with Go Launcher 2.87.

    And no, there is no flicker or anything. It just doesn't work. When I press the home button on the phone, it simply stays in the screen I am in (or simply goes back to the screen from which I opened an app). :(
     
  11. T.M.M.L

    T.M.M.L Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    463
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010

    Sep 20, 2010
    463
    93
    53
    Ohio
    Greetings fonduekid,

    Do you know if you've installed a app that overwrites the normal home key function?

    I used an app called ultimate favs that did this. Go launcher was still my default launcher, but ultimate favs "sat on top" of Go launcher, so control of the home key belonged to it.

    You might try uninstalling and re-installing Go, to see if this fixes your problems.

    Good luck.
     
  12. fonduekid

    fonduekid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012

    Mar 13, 2012
    70
    1
    36
    Helsinki
    Thanks a lot for the info..

    No, I haven't checked this and I don't remember (or I can't recall) any app that was set to use the home key in a given way.. I will try reinstalling Go launcher later today and see how it goes..

    Thanks again. Cheers..
     
  13. fonduekid

    fonduekid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012

    Mar 13, 2012
    70
    1
    36
    Helsinki
    Hello again,

    Reinstalling Go Launcher did not help.. and I couldn't figure out what other app / function was taking over the home button function either.

    Surprisingly, I saw the same issue when I tried Nova Launcher on my Asus TF201 tablet!

    So, as mentioned in prev posts, probably some app is taking over the home button function and not letting it to be used by Go Launcher / Nova Launcher..

    Anyway, for the moment, I have just gone back to the stock launcher in both devices.. It's fine with the stock launcher though.

    Cheers.
     
  14. nicka3200

    nicka3200 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,047
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011

    Dec 28, 2011
    1,047
    357
    163
    Male
    UK
    A bit labourious but you could try going through each app and manually clearing defaults. You will get the opportunity to reselect defaults when you next use each app.
     
  15. fonduekid

    fonduekid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012

    Mar 13, 2012
    70
    1
    36
    Helsinki
    Hi,

    Thanks.. yes, that's what I planned to do though I don't have the time right now :) But for sure will check it soon and see if I can get the issue fixed and will get back here with the solution.. ;)

    Cheers.
     
  16. ndfan4u

    ndfan4u Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    223
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010

    Jun 13, 2010
    223
    10
    38
    Los Angeles
    Actually it's very simple:
    Menu/Edit/ this brings to your # of screens.........then press on home icon to the screen you want as home.
     
  17. Adauth

    Adauth Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,664
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    1,664
    204
    163
    Male
    Oil and gas industry.
    New Orleans
    He has already tried that. :)
     
  18. fonduekid

    fonduekid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    70
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012

    Mar 13, 2012
    70
    1
    36
    Helsinki
    Yes I've already tried all those things... It just didn't work :-(
     
  19. NandimxD

    NandimxD Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012

    Jul 5, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    did you solve it? i have the same issue =/
     
  20. brooklyn227

    brooklyn227 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    120
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    120
    20
    38
    Stagehand / lighting tech
    Las vegas
    menu/preferences/application settings/gesture settings/home key actiom/go shortcut/ the first shortcut is (main screen) click ok. That's just what worked for me.
     
  21. biplabthe1

    biplabthe1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012

    Dec 31, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I was using operamini,sbi freedom,and it all of a sudden stopped working. On my home screen it just says "loading" under the respective icons. When i press it it says "unable to access the application, try to restart GO Launcher" I've reset my phone a few times and it still doesn't work..And also when i restart the phone but does not work and all the applications installed on the sd card do not work and under every icon loading is seen.
     
  22. stefanqn

    stefanqn Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013

    Jan 15, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    Got the home screen button problem with screen flickering, too.

    It's related to the screen locker (Active Lockscreen in my case). I stopped Active Lockscreen and removed it from the services list, then the PIN login for my SIM card appeared and the home button works now properly.
     

Share This Page

Loading...