1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Home WiFi never connects automatically???

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Path-d, Oct 20, 2010.

  1. Path-d

    Path-d Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010

    Oct 20, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Not sure why but I have to manually connect to my home WiFi all of the time.

    Super annoying because I catch a terrible signal in the apartments I live and I leave my wifi on which drains my battery for basically nothing.

    Anyone else with this problem?
    anyone solved it?

    Any info appreciated!
    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. BookLover

    BookLover Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    977
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010

    Oct 11, 2010
    977
    114
    113
    USA
    You can use either Juice Defender or Auto Wifi Toggle (or both as I do).

    Juice Defender helps save battery by putting your sync'd apps on a schedule so that they don't connect to the internet willy nilly. You can control wifi with it as well. Automatically enables and connects to *known" wifi when in range and automatically disables wifi when out of range. Maybe this is all you really need.

    I use Auto Wifi Toggle in addition to JD because it ensures that when I'm at home and JD decides to put Wifi to sleep because the screen is off, that Auto Wifi Toggle turns Wifi back on (in the background when screen is off), because I have profile set up that keeps my Pattern Unlock off when I'm connected to my home wifi.
     
  3. Path-d

    Path-d Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010

    Oct 20, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    great stuff thanks!
     
  4. Martimus

    Martimus One bite at a time...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    19,535
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    19,535
    4,045
    843
    Male
    Engineer
    'neath a cactus
    +1 on Auto WiFi Toogle! I have that installed on my DX and it works great! :cool:
     
  5. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I use Y5 - Battery Saver to automatically turn mine on when I'm near the 3 routers I've added. I never have to mess with turning wireless on or off unless I'm going to add a new wireless connection.

    I bought Juice Defender and tried it for a week, but got the same results using "Maximum Battery Saver" mode in 2.2. JD was too complicated and didn't work as they claimed.
     
  6. borlandi72

    borlandi72 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Denver, CO
    How do you access settings for Auto Wifi Toggle app? THANKS in advance!
     
  7. sic0048

    sic0048 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    545
    52
    78
    How often does Y5 turn the WiFi antenna on to check for local networks?
     
  8. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    How does Y5 - Battery Saver work? Does it use GPS?

    Of course Y5 - Battery Saver does not use GPS. It wouldn't make sense as the GPS drains even more power than Wifi radio. The application uses the information which is already available: the GSM base tower identifier (CellID) to determine the location of the Wifi network.

    Y5 - Battery Saver - Frequently Asked Questions
     
  9. sic0048

    sic0048 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    545
    52
    78
    Most of these apps either cycle the wifi periodically to check for known hotspots, or they use the cell towers to determine location. I guess this program uses cell towers. While I haven't tried this program specifically others I have looked at don't really have pin point accuracy in determining location using cell towers. They might be accurate to a mile or two radius around the tower(s). That isn't very accurate IMHO and can cause issues with some programs like the real time traffic program I use all the time when I am in the car. Not getting a good connection for the first mile or two (or last mile or two) of my commute is unacceptable in my situation.

    Also, in my case, my workplace is 1/2 of a mile from a intersection of two interstate highways. Is is a spot where traffic is always bad and I rely on the real time traffic updates. I pass through this interchange all the time - not just when driving to/from work. If it switches to wifi every time I'm driving on the highway near my work place, this obviously won't be acceptable.

    I'm going to try this program and see how it performs. But this was the reason for my question above.

    PS - it really is too bad that you cannot kill an application with Tasker anymore (thanks Google for trying to "protect" me from myself). It would be really easy to create a task that would kill the Y5 service when the phone was car docked and turn the service back on when it was removed from the car dock. This would fix any potential issue I would have with this program.
     
  10. BookLover

    BookLover Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    977
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010

    Oct 11, 2010
    977
    114
    113
    USA
    Well, if you have Tasker...why don't you create a profile that when your traffic app is running that Wifi is set to OFF ?

    I have to do the opposite. I sometimes have to start Navigation in my driveway, and I have a profile that keeps wifi on as long as it's connected to my home wifi, which causes my phone to never lock onto GPS...So I have Tasker turn off wifi when my Navigation and Maps apps are on and I force Mobile Data on (although it's on by default when wifi is off) to ensure I don't have a data connection problem when using GPS.
     
  11. sic0048

    sic0048 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    545
    52
    78
    Well I tried Y5 and my fears were unfounded. The Wifi does turn on a mile or more from each access point, but the 3g connection is not lost until you actually connect to a wireless network. I guess I was being an idiot thinking it would drop sooner. So I actually like this type of program and think it will save battery over time. I shouldn't have any problems driving up and down the highway using real time traffic apps either. There might be times where both the 3g and Wifi are turned on at the same time, but one or the other should be connected at all times.
     
  12. sic0048

    sic0048 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    545
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    545
    52
    78
    Interesting. I didn't know that GPS struggled when Wifi was one. I already turn the Wifi network off when it is initially put in the car dock. Then I turn on the GPS and start GLOB (the real time traffic app I use). This works fine.

    My fear was that I would loose the 3g connection whenever I was near a wifi spot I use regularly. The reality is that the 3g connection only stops when you actually connect to a wifi network. Not just when the wifi is turned on. So using a program like Y5 will work just fine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...