1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support homescreen

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by thetal1, Dec 10, 2009.

  1. thetal1

    thetal1 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    26
    0
    15
    Student
    Las vegas, NV
    i got my moment today and everything worked fine
    just now the home screen stopped rotating when the keyboard wasn't open?
    everything else will rotate but not the home screen
    also what apps do i not kill with Advance App Killer cuz i know some of them will just open back up
     

    Advertisement

  2. ydoucare

    ydoucare Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009

    Nov 26, 2009
    41
    3
    16
    It doesn't rotate the home screen at all unless you slide out the keyboard, that is how it works.
     
  3. thetal1

    thetal1 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    26
    0
    15
    Student
    Las vegas, NV
    lol i guess i need to pay more attention lol
     
  4. kahale

    kahale Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    255
    11
    38
    it does rotate in certain apps with the keyboard closed like the web broswer. maybe you got it mixed up with that.
     
  5. Thefoodman52

    Thefoodman52 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,314
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    2,314
    329
    163
    Resource Consumer
    San Diego
    If you want a rotating home screen (like I did) go d/l an alternate home. 91Pandahome has it, I just wouldn't d/l any extra themes for it, some are unstable and CAN brick your phone. The stock theme won't though. I've had it for 3 days now, no problems. Love it.
     
  6. kahale

    kahale Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    255
    11
    38
    i bricked my first moment with pandahome using the default homescreen it came with. i wouldn't suggest to try any home screen, especially pandahome. recently someone found out how to re flash the factory os back on to it. haven't tried it yet tho but this is not supported by samsung. so it would probably void the warranty etc. your choice tho...:)
     
  7. thetal1

    thetal1 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    26
    0
    15
    Student
    Las vegas, NV
    Well with that whole bricking thing ill have to just deal with the non rotating screen. Thanks for all the help
     
  8. njbianco

    njbianco Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    46
    Posts:
    434
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009

    Nov 5, 2009
    434
    8
    46
    Male
    metro detroit
    I actually bricked my phone last night it was with the new version of openhome 3.5 i had to reflash it and everything went fine
     
  9. kahale

    kahale Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    255
    11
    38
    im glad it worked out for you. i still rather not take the risk. if samsung released a official way then i would reconsider. right now im keeping my phone stock for now. i was a bit app crazy when i first got my phone. :eek:
     
  10. agent0014

    agent0014 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    394
    1
    36
    for it to void your warranty, Sprint would somehow have to determine that you were trying to do something against the rules which caused your phone to brick... to my knowledge there's no way for them to trace anything that would caused a bricked phone or a reflash of the original rom. I'm coming from the WinMo world though, so perhaps I'm wrong... but I'd be surprised if I was.
     
  11. Edaze55

    Edaze55 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    81
    Posts:
    973
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009

    Aug 26, 2009
    973
    1
    81
    Data Tech
    Chicago, IL
    The problem with your terminology is that if you ACTUALLY bricked your phone, it would still be just that. Bricked. You dont really unbrick a phone. Im not saying you didnt messed it up, but I see people say this all the time. To brick a phone means its truly unfixable. You wouldnt be able to reflash.

    Its like that blackberry commercial where they guys have two different carriers, and ones got great reception while the other has none. His phone goes into "paperweight mode". Thats pretty much what you have when you brick a phone.
     
  12. kahale

    kahale Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    255
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    255
    11
    38
    i think njbianco was using the term rather loosely, i too. the definitions for bricking and unbricking is rather debatable to say the least.

    Brick (electronics) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
     

Samsung Moment

The Samsung Moment was one of the first Android Phones with a slideout keyboard.

Share This Page

Loading...