1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Honesty about Rooting

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Dougfresh, May 3, 2011.

1. Dougfresh

Dougfresh Newbie
    None

Jul 16, 2010
    I have been wanting to root my Dinc since I got it in August. I feel completely confident that I can perform the procedure correctly. Here's the thing. I work in the medical field and I'm on call for surgery almost 24/7. So far service has been great, phone has been great. I have not dropped or missed any calls. If I miss even one call I will probably lose my job. So my question is, if you where in my situation where you could not afford to miss even one call. Would you still root your phone? Have you experienced any complications due to rooting, even if they were temporary?

Thanks

Advertisement

2. sdrawkcab25

sdrawkcab25 Android Expert

Aug 5, 2010
    Male
    PA
    Rooting will in itself will not effect whether or not you can receive calls text, browse internet etc, but gives you the power to effect it.
    Rooting is just the equivalent of changing your account on windows from "limited" to "administrator". You don't lose or gain any data, you are just turning off the parental (verizon) controls.

So to answer your question: "With great power, comes great responsiblity."

And I've never had any issues because of having root that caused me to miss a single text or phone call.

Randino and EarlyMon like this.
  3. EarlyMon

EarlyMon The PearlyMon

Jun 10, 2010
    New Mexico, USA
    Rooting can take minutes to an hour, with backups, etc.

If you can't miss a call whatsoever in that interim, I'd avoid it.

What do people in your profession do if their battery dies or something or you need to get a new phone?

Tech is never 100% reliable - mostly, in most cases, but 100%?

And +1 to sdrawkcab25 for the most succinct yet clear overview of root I've read yet.

Dougfresh likes this.
  4. PGP_Protector

PGP_Protector Well-Known Member

Aug 3, 2010