1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Hopefully got this right

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by phil99, Jul 19, 2011.

  1. phil99

    phil99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    148
    1
    56
    I'm currently running LeeDroid version 3.0.8.2 and want to try miui out, but if i dont like it go back to LeeDroid.
    First off im going to do a titanium back up
    Then copy all my SD card data to pc
    Reboot to recovery and back up here too

    Do i need to do a factory reset, and if i dont like miui is a recovery through clockwork and titanium back up going to put my phone to how it is now.

    Sorry to be a pain
     

    Advertisement

  2. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #122
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,272
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,272
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    as long as you recovery (nandroid) backup first, Yes and yes
     
  3. phil99

    phil99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    148
    1
    56
    now miui or Redux
    with miui do i use the the language zip after rom zip
     
  4. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    Id recommend miui xj, there is no need for language packs as its all in English, just pop over to xda and type in miuixj for desire and enjoy.
     
  5. phil99

    phil99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    148
    1
    56
    i have put miui xj on and im now having trouble with apps2sd now moving stuff and ive run out of space, any ideas
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    did you do the "a2sd cachesd" command to move dalvik-cache to SD card in terminal emulator?

    XJ uses dark tremor a2sd+. See the root memory faq in the "all about rooting" sticky thread here.
     
    phil99 likes this.
  7. phil99

    phil99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    148
    1
    56
    Not really sure what your on about, i think i will go back to Leedroid untill i understand this
     
  8. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire

    It's very simple, download terminal emulator from the market and type the commands Su listed, that's it your done.
    Should point out the command is
    Type su, press enter
    Then type a2sd cachesd
    Then you will see lots of writing and the phone will reboot and may take a few minutes to start again. This is normal as its moving the dalvic cache to the EXT partition.
     
    phil99 likes this.
  9. phil99

    phil99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    148
    1
    56
    So just download terminal emulator and type in the commands nothing else
     
  10. shauny13

    shauny13 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #122
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,272
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,272
    303
    163
    Male
    Beautiful Dorset
    just as Ducky said.
     
  11. phil99

    phil99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    148
    1
    56
    After this is done can i start putting all my backups from titanium back on, will i need to do it again or is that it
     
  12. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    Any problems let us know.
     
    phil99 likes this.
  13. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    No that's it, after you run the command apps will install to the EXT partition, saving huge amounts of space. Won't be long and you will be asking about custom tables. Lol
     
  14. phil99

    phil99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    148
    1
    56
    Sorry to be a pain, im just trying to get my head around this, been reading stuff for what seems like days
     
  15. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Basically there are different a2sd scripts in different Roms. Most are simple ones, almost like no-brand products but there is a more complicated one called dark tremor which is very configurable.
    Miui comes with dark tremor. Theres a section in the faq I mentioned
     
    phil99 likes this.
  16. phil99

    phil99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    148
    1
    56

    Give me a few months. But now you have got me thinking :thinking:
     
  17. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire
    Don't worry about it, I asked loads of questions before I rooted and flashed roms, I still do now and then. I used to get bullied on here. Lol its fine to ask questions before doing something rather than making mistakes and asking on here how to fix things. Take your time, read the faqs and start modding.
     
  18. SUroot

    SUroot Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,123
    Posts:
    23,925
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    May 25, 2010
    23,925
    5,306
    1,123
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    Who bullied you?
     
  19. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire

    Lecter. All in jest of course. It made my rooting experience all the more enjoyable. :)
     
  20. phil99

    phil99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    148
    1
    56
    some of miui seems to be in chinese still, is this normal
     
  21. ducky1979

    ducky1979 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    910
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    910
    96
    98
    Male
    conductor
    Buxton, Derbyshire

    Which parts of it? you did do a full wipe before installing xj didn't you?
     
    phil99 likes this.
  22. phil99

    phil99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    148
    1
    56
    Yes i did the factory reset one, its on the home screen when you press the menu key above the preview and under the search
     
  23. phil99

    phil99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    148
    1
    56
    argggg internal storage is down to 13.11mb but A2SD says 857mb free, what am i doing wrong this time
     
  24. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,080
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,080
    15,335
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    How big is your partition (i.e. how much of it have you used)?

    And is your dalvik cache on the sd-ext, or in internal storage? Put another way, have you typed the commands Ducky gave in post #8?
     
  25. phil99

    phil99 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    148
    1
    56
    i did a 1gb partition and have tried the commands ducky gave me

    i have used 153mb and have 857mb left
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...