1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Horrible Battery\um what rom do I have?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Toyzruskid1976, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. Toyzruskid1976

    Toyzruskid1976 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    122
    2
    36
    Business Analyst
    Dayton, OH
    So i have two issues. The first one... I forget what Rom I have.
    Mod Version AOSPCMOD-HC-20110421 Kernal 2.6.29.6 AOSPCMOD Android 2.3.3

    Second issue (and the big one) what the heck happened to my battery. I have beeen trying forever to figure this one out. I did the reset battery deal several times and still nothing. I've never had this issue. I get maybe 4 hours? Maps seems to be using a lot of action. Google Voice is one of the top Partial Sleep. (I keep killing the widget) I realized Lattitude was turned on (no clue why, but even turning it off didn't work) I have GPS and Wireless location turned off. Shopkick is uninstalled.

    What am I missing??? I wanted to see if I had the latest ROM update and went omg wtf I can't remember which ROM I'm on. I bounced between a few of them and forgot what I had lol.

    Any direction would be helpful.. yes I've been googling for the past few days and I've tried numerous fixes as stated above, but I'm getting crap battery life :(
     

    Advertisement

  2. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    It looks like you are on the AOSP Android 2.3.3 ROM and perhaps flashing to the latest version which is AOSP Android 2.3.4 would help: http://androidforums.com/sprint-her...od-aosp-2-3-4-cm7-gingerbread-05-23-11-a.html .

    If you do not feel like doing that, try booting into recovery and wiping your cache and then going into Advanced and wiping Dalvik cache. Also, why are you killing widgets? If you do not want the widget, just take it off of your home screen. What exactly are you using to kill your widgets?
     
  3. Toyzruskid1976

    Toyzruskid1976 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    122
    2
    36
    Business Analyst
    Dayton, OH
    Thanks, I wasn't 100% sure if I was on that series of patches. I'm going to install it now assuming it doesnt require a clean wipe.


    With regards to the widget... here's the thing... I don't have widgets yet it shows up as a widget. I heard it was a glitch with Google Voice.

    If you go into running applications you'll see the google voice widget running.

    Settings also takes up a good part of my resources as does google maps (even though I have location services completely turned off)
     
  4. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    First, do the cache wiping that I mentioned in my other post. If you want to flash AOSP Android 2.3.4, you should be able to do so over top, but if that causes problems, you will need to do a clean wipe and flash it again along with the latest GApps.

    Are you just force closing the Google Voice widget from the Applications Management window or are you using a task killer? If it is the latter, and it is constantly killing that widget, and then it restarts, that could drain the battery.
     
  5. Toyzruskid1976

    Toyzruskid1976 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    122
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    122
    2
    36
    Business Analyst
    Dayton, OH
    manually killing it via application manager > stop
     
  6. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,368
    Joined:
    May 29, 2010

    May 29, 2010
    2,368
    507
    213
    Senior Software Engineer
    Wilmington, Delaware
    Unless you are actively using Google Maps, I do not see any reason why it should be eating up your battery, especially if you have disabled Google Latitude. I turn my GPS and Wi-Fi off when I am not using them too, and Google Maps never shows up in the battery usage list unless I had been using it recently.

    Hopefully clearing up the caches or flashing the newer version of the ROM will fix things. It sounds like something funny is going on in the background that is constantly accessing your GPS, and that would definitely kill your battery in the time you mentioned.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...