1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Horrible Horrible Battery Consumption??

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by shotgunfool, May 4, 2010.

  1. shotgunfool

    shotgunfool Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    112
    5
    36
    Has anyone experienced this drastic amount of battery use?

    Im on Villain 5.4

    and this is atcually awful

    [​IMG]




    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement

  2. shotgunfool

    shotgunfool Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    112
    5
    36
    iv already looked at that, i saw that a last week
     
  3. andy d

    andy d Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009

    Aug 19, 2009
    595
    18
    63
    UK
    5.5 is even worse. :(
     
  4. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,881
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,881
    9,209
    1,413
    UK
    70% drain in two hours? That's just crazy, even for a 2.1 ROM. I haven't had battery drain like that at all.
     
  5. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    I did 85% drain in 6hours with medium>Heavy use..
     
  6. shotgunfool

    shotgunfool Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    112
    5
    36
    well as you can see from the screenshots its drained 70% with 30 mins use =/
     
  7. rustynuts

    rustynuts Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    55
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    109
    0
    55
    building preservation
    kent, UK
    I turned mine on fully charged at 7 with moderate use it was down to 37% by 2.30 guess this is the same as all the 2.1 roms I have tried thank god I have an in car charger
     
  8. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,616
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    1,616
    243
    143
    Driver
    W Midlands, UK
    Have you tried wiping your battery statistics?

    Let the battery discharge completely then boot into Recovery > Wipe > Wipe battery stats. Then reboot, and put it on charge until it's reached 100%

    I'm using a 2.1 ROM, phone comes off charge about 07:30ish and by 19:30ish I've usually got about 50% remaining. Granted from 50% it then goes down rather quickly.
     
  9. Jaffa

    Jaffa Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    148
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    1,185
    91
    148
    Electrical Engineer
    Brighton
    People need to factor use into battery life, when i first got my Hero it drained quickly because I was playing with it, I dont think this ROM is any worse in my experience, I can geta full day of light to moderate use from 5.5
     
  10. rustynuts

    rustynuts Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    55
    Posts:
    109
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    109
    0
    55
    building preservation
    kent, UK
    I must say my battery did drain really quickly but installing juice defender made quite a differance
     
  11. tojjer

    tojjer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    294
    8
    56
    Paramedic
    Weymouth, UK
    Not sure if anyone else tried this and changed the settings to those stated.
    I did, and I noticed I hadn't got any picture mails again. I tried sending one to myself but no joy. I reverted back to WCDMA preferred, and 6 pictures came through within minutes.
    I'm on Orange, so I presume GSM auto (PRL) doesn't work with that.
    Anyone else find that on Orange?
     
  12. stoney73

    stoney73 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I've currently got my hero set to GSM auto (PRL) and can send/receive pic msgs. I'm on three. and have used mmszap.

    MmsZap 2.0 - MMS settings changer for leaked Eris 2.1 based roms - HTCPedia.com forums
     
  13. tojjer

    tojjer Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    294
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    294
    8
    56
    Paramedic
    Weymouth, UK
    Yes, I used MMSzap too. All the settings are correct, just won't have it on gsm auto (prl) on Orange for some reason. that's why I wondered if it was just me having that problem.
     
  14. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,616
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    1,616
    243
    143
    Driver
    W Midlands, UK
    From what I've deducted in my testing, changing the options in the phone info menu (*#*#INFO#*#*) will effect you as such...

    WCDMA preferred - Will automatically switch between G/E/3G/H depending on the best signal and uses the most battery.

    WCDMA Only - Locks you in HSDPA

    GSM auto (PRL) - Will automatically switch you between G/E/3G/H based on the PRL list on your phone (thus using less battery than WCDMA preferred which is based on monitoring signals). For this to be affective, make sure your PRL list is up-to-date in Settings > About > System Update > Update PRLs. This might not work for all carriers, in which case you'll have to use WCDMA preferred if you want to switch between all 4.

    GSM only - Locks you in G/E and uses the least battery.
     
  15. shotgunfool

    shotgunfool Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009

    Dec 28, 2009
    112
    5
    36
    Forced close when

    Update PRLs. this might not work for all carriers.
     
  16. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,616
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    1,616
    243
    143
    Driver
    W Midlands, UK
    Yea, the phone app force closes, and you'll notice you lose reception for a few moments. I think that is necessary to make the update.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...