1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Hosts file for Ad Blocking

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Purponic, Aug 17, 2011.

  1. Purponic

    Purponic Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    156
    43
    43
    I found the hosts file in system/etc and I deleted it and replaced it with one that blocks ads but I'm still getting ads. Did I screw something up or is there another location I have to put it in?

    I'm in the process of making my own custom rom to educate myself a lil more on how things run. I'm not trying to steal Shabbys thunder this is being made solely for myself.
     

    Advertisement

  2. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,457
    413
    Jax Fl
    did you look in /etc?
     
    Purponic likes this.
  3. Purponic

    Purponic Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    156
    43
    43
    Yeah thats the one I replaced but its not working. I did it through file expert could that be the problem? Does it need to be pushed through adb instead?
     
  4. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,457
    413
    Jax Fl
    Does file expert have the ability to change system files? I dont use it, I did try es explorer, I think that was the one I tried changing system files and even though they said they changed they never did. now its possible I was not using it correctly, its not one I looked at much and since I had root explorer I just dumped it and used root explorer.
     
    Purponic likes this.
  5. Necrotoxin

    Necrotoxin Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011

    Jun 1, 2011
    225
    100
    68
    College student

    Simple answer. No you did everything right. The problem is the hosts file blocks ip addresses so if an ad is hosted on or coming from an ip address not in the hosts file you're still going to see it.there is no magic filter that can block all ads but you can block a large majority of them.

    I hope that info helps.
     
    Purponic likes this.
  6. Purponic

    Purponic Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    156
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011

    Jun 4, 2011
    156
    43
    43
    Thanks I figured it out. I didn't have it placed in /etc like optimus said. Its working perfectly now.
     
  7. hate

    hate Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011

    Jul 14, 2011
    260
    51
    53
    Male
    Hawaii
    where did you get the replacement host file?
     
  8. trenchkato

    trenchkato Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    507
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    507
    127
    93
    Atlanta, Georgia
    i just use ad free.. but it is not seeming to work with my newest flash...
     
  9. hate

    hate Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011

    Jul 14, 2011
    260
    51
    53
    Male
    Hawaii
    this one seems to be working.....

    Block ads on your Android phone (2010-04-15) - xda-developers

    edit - just checked appbrain market aftyer posting and the ad was back. astro still was adfree. well i know it's impossible to block every ad...but since when do we not try just cause something is impossible lol.
     

Share This Page

Loading...