1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Hotspot locator?!?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Hodr, Mar 31, 2009.

  1. Hodr

    Hodr Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009

    Mar 27, 2009
    12
    0
    15
    So, recently got my G1 (4.5 hours in the T-Mobile store, believe me that lifelock crap works) and I would like to use T-Mobile hotspots.

    Only problem is, I don't seem to be able to locate the app in the market place. Has it been removed?
     

    Advertisement

  2. N3TWORK BURN3R

    N3TWORK BURN3R Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    554
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008

    Sep 24, 2008
    554
    7
    61
    Graphic Design/Help Desk
    Long Beach, CA
    It should be in "Market>Applications>All Applications>By Popularity". 5th to 6th one down. If you dont see it, let me know and ill back it up for you and post it here. Its odd that it wouldn't be there. Most hotspots SSID is "tmohs". So try to connect to that if you can.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    663
    Posts:
    10,543
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008

    Nov 3, 2008
    10,543
    210
    663
    Washington DC, USA
    I thought it came installed on my G1 but OCT 21, 2008 was a while ago, so I cant swear to it !!!
     
  4. Hodr

    Hodr Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009

    Mar 27, 2009
    12
    0
    15
    I appreciate the quick and detailed response. I just checked the market again, where you indicated, and could not find it.

    Seems odd that I am missing this app, hope it doesn't indicate an intent to discontinue to service by T-Mobile.
     
  5. StanSimmons

    StanSimmons Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009

    Mar 31, 2009
    5
    0
    5
    Don't panic.

    I am contractually unable to provide more information at this time.
     
  6. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    663
    Posts:
    10,543
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008

    Nov 3, 2008
    10,543
    210
    663
    Washington DC, USA
    I think the app "T-Mobile Hotspot" must have been pulled ... I still have it on my G1 ... but I never recall getting it to work ???
     
  7. N3TWORK BURN3R

    N3TWORK BURN3R Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    554
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008

    Sep 24, 2008
    554
    7
    61
    Graphic Design/Help Desk
    Long Beach, CA
    I added it there for you. Click to download. Also, be warned...its pretty damn shitty.
    WTF!? What is this....a bot? Raise the Ban Hammer?

    Yea, its a real POS. Maybe thats why it was pulled?
     
  8. StanSimmons

    StanSimmons Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009

    Mar 31, 2009
    5
    0
    5
    No, not a bot. I just don't have permission to post the details behind what is happening with the app.

    ... and yes the app did work at one time.
     
  9. N3TWORK BURN3R

    N3TWORK BURN3R Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    554
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008

    Sep 24, 2008
    554
    7
    61
    Graphic Design/Help Desk
    Long Beach, CA
    So we DO need the app to connect to TMobile HS? Ive had the G1 since launch and i got it to work "maybe" once. Why is it so problematic?
     
  10. StanSimmons

    StanSimmons Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009

    Mar 31, 2009
    5
    0
    5
    The reason behind the problem is part of what I don't have permission to release.

    The problem has been found and it is being worked on.
     
  11. N3TWORK BURN3R

    N3TWORK BURN3R Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    554
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008

    Sep 24, 2008
    554
    7
    61
    Graphic Design/Help Desk
    Long Beach, CA
    By the way, Welcome to AF! I hope you can hang around here for a while.
     
  12. Hodr

    Hodr Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009

    Mar 27, 2009
    12
    0
    15
    Hopefully they get it worked out. I just got this phone, had to drive 40 miles to get to a t-mobile store to pick it up.

    I was told that there is really good coverage in my area, but I find that if I get a mile off of either main highway there is no coverage (which includes my house).

    So, my alternative has been to get a majic jack for the home and use the phone in town.
     
  13. N3TWORK BURN3R

    N3TWORK BURN3R Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    61
    Posts:
    554
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008

    Sep 24, 2008
    554
    7
    61
    Graphic Design/Help Desk
    Long Beach, CA
    Wow 40 miles? Here in Cali, within a 15 miles radious there are maybe 10-15 T-mobile stores.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...