1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General How big is the Dalvik Cache allowed to get?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by FLAWLESSVW, Sep 15, 2011.

  1. FLAWLESSVW

    FLAWLESSVW Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    185
    30
    43
    Male
    Business Intelligence Analyst, SQL Developer
    Cleveland, OH
    Just curious if it is permitted to grow unlimited amounts.

    I try to clear mine regularly by going into \data\dalvik-cache and deleting everything then rebooting.

    Today for example, my available Internal memory was about 18MB. I wiped the cache then went back into Titanium Backup and had around 55MB free!

    After a fresh reboot (and no launching of apps or anything) I was back to about 25MB free.

    Just seems goofy to me, that's a heck of a lot of cache data for a phone with so little internal memory imo! :eek:

    ShabbyMod Loaded 0.9.
     

    Advertisement

  2. janathan

    janathan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    153
    5
    36
    yeah it sucks. link2sd can move delvik-cache to sd. but when u restart, things are back to square one. android developers really need to make apps install in sd card completely like iphones. we should be worrying abt internal memory anymore if we have installed a memory card :)
     
  3. janathan

    janathan Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    153
    5
    36
    i meant we should not be worrying about internal memory :))
     
  4. inigomontoyasr

    inigomontoyasr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    383
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011

    Jul 9, 2011
    383
    215
    68

Share This Page

Loading...