1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support how can i boost my signal !?!?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Warrior 3000, May 12, 2010.

  1. Warrior 3000

    Warrior 3000 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    134
    3
    36
    so i have a DC 2.08 rooted sprint hero FYI.


    i work in a high school 8 hours a day. i go through out the entire day without pretty much any signal. most of the time im in my office within the high school and i get no signal at all. is there anyway i can tweek the phone so i can get signal. i already tried different radios.
     

    Advertisement

  2. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,566
    86
    128
    Student/Engineer
    Minnesota
    if you stand on one foot, hold one arm in the air and hold onto a locker in your school, you're guaranteed to boost the signal.

    Oh wait, that's for watching TV with rabbit ears


    Check your PRL and make sure it's relatively recent (like 60662 to 60664), as that MIGHT help. If you've tried different radios, I don't think there's anything else you can try other than those goofy little antennas you put on your window that may or may not work
     
  3. Wiskid

    Wiskid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    189
    5
    36
    Network Engineer
    Madison, Wi
    I also work in a High School (IT Guy)... I get zero service all day. The only time I get messages/voicemail/calls is when I'm on lunch (because i go home for lunch.) I usually step outside to get some fresh air from time to time, and check my messages that way.
     
  4. Warrior 3000

    Warrior 3000 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    134
    3
    36
    yeah isnt it a pain not getting service all day ?!?! my hero is always looking for service while im at work and it kills my battery so much. =/
     
  5. Wiskid

    Wiskid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    189
    5
    36
    Network Engineer
    Madison, Wi
    Yeah, but everyone who would need to contact me knows the school's number and my extension. Mine goes to power save mode within like 20-30 min. When I leave work, i still have 90% battery life.

    IDK why your isn't going to power save mode.. :rolleyes:
     
  6. NYCHitman1

    NYCHitman1 Gun for Hire
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    6,538
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009

    Oct 16, 2009
    6,538
    1,761
    353
    Male
    EUSA
    Long Island, NY
    My Hero doesn't believe in power save mode :(
     
  7. ethos

    ethos Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    16
    0
    15
    If you get intermittent bits of signal once in a while your phone won't go into power save mode. I noticed that on mine (I have a similar issue at work/school). My solution is to just turn it off (or airplane mode) while without signal then bring it back when you leave work.

    I do have wifi access at school though. I wish there was a way to turn off the cellular radio and just use the wifi part while I'm working. It's the cell part seeking for a signal that kills battery life.
     
  8. mysticmead

    mysticmead Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,348
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    1,348
    175
    143
    Kingston, GA
    I would suggest an Airave for your office... but it also needs to be able to get a GPS lock...
     
  9. sagedil

    sagedil Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    796
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    796
    178
    93
    Laid off....sigh
    Raleigh, NC
    Supposedly there is. Look here...


    Daniel Velazco: Airplane Mode Wi-Fi Description
     
  10. ethos

    ethos Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009

    Oct 21, 2009
    16
    0
    15
  11. dominicanyor

    dominicanyor Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    321
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010

    Mar 11, 2010
    321
    3
    56
    Jacksonville fl

    lmao
     
  12. thegabrielj

    thegabrielj Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010

    Jun 29, 2010
    9
    1
    6
    pittsburgh
    I have the same problem with my ally in my place.... my wife never has any prob and my previous phone was fine is this phone just crap or what?
     
  13. jetjock46

    jetjock46 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    27
    4
    16
  14. PapaSlacker

    PapaSlacker Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011

    Mar 2, 2011
    21
    0
    15
  15. jetjock46

    jetjock46 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Mar 24, 2010
    27
    4
    16
    Yes they work. A lot of RV r's use them to amplify the signal in isolated areas. The system that you choose must apply to your situation, that is the important factor.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...