1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

How can I check my phone is properly rooted?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by johnbhoyc, Oct 9, 2011.

  1. johnbhoyc

    johnbhoyc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    95
    2
    16
    This was the guide I used

    How to Root Samsung Galaxy S2 i9100 – Easy Steps

    The first part flashing the kernal went ok

    The second part however using superoneclick seemed to happen really quickly. Basically when I hit root a message came up almost instantly saying "your device is now rooted" Didn't need to restart my phone or anything.

    Is this normal?

    I have the super user app but no CWM

    Need to check it's rooted ok before I flas a ROM
     

    Advertisement

  2. showmestuff-S2

    showmestuff-S2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011

    Oct 7, 2011
    175
    2
    36
    use an app called root checker
     
    johnbhoyc likes this.
  3. ironass

    ironass Android Expert
    Rank:
     #21
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    11,456
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    11,456
    5,676
    1,343
    Male
    Keeping one step ahead of the tax man.
    Cotswolds, England
    If you now have BusyBox and SuperUser in your app drawer the chances are you're rooted. :D
     
    johnbhoyc likes this.
  4. johnbhoyc

    johnbhoyc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    95
    2
    16
    Thanks for the speedy reply

    Done what you said and got "Congratulations! You have root access!"

    Thanks mate.

    How do I get CWM. Do I just download ROM manager from the market?

    And can anyone tell me if it will back up data in my games? I don't want to loose my progress in Paradise island lol
     
  5. heshanj

    heshanj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,251
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    i think the best way to get CWM is to root ur phone via CF root.. instead of superoneclick.
    i used to root using superoneclick too but i remember trying to get CWM but it just didnt work

    check out [08.10.2011][CF-Root v4.3] KE*, KF*, KG1/2/3/5/6/7, KH1/3/4, KI2/3/4/8 - su+bb+CWM4 - xda-developers

    if u want to backup app data such as game levels etc, use titanium backup, its the best backup app ive used.. it backs up game levels perfectly :D CWM will also work, sure.. it does a complete system image (nandroid backup) including ur firmware.. but if u just want a backup app for ur game levels and app data, titanium is wat ur looking for
     
    johnbhoyc likes this.
  6. johnbhoyc

    johnbhoyc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    95
    2
    16
    I can't seem to find the kernel on that page:thinking:
     
  7. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #59
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    5,946
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,946
    3,683
    443
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    Go to settings then about phone. Scroll down to build number. You then need to find the cfroot kernel which matches this.
     
    johnbhoyc likes this.
  8. johnbhoyc

    johnbhoyc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    95
    2
    16
    Here is what I have

    [​IMG][/IMG]
     
  9. Kie

    Kie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    822
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011

    Oct 7, 2011
    822
    223
    113
    Risk and Safety Engineer
    Perth, Australia
    So it ends with KE7 (Build number). Check out chainfire's third post on that thread. You'll see 4 downloadable files. Yours is the KE7 one (2nd one down).
     
    johnbhoyc likes this.
  10. heshanj

    heshanj Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,251
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011

    johnbhoyc likes this.
  11. johnbhoyc

    johnbhoyc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    95
    2
    16
    So would this be the one I go for

    Why does it say Poland? I'm rom the UK

    I notice theres another KI3 in the frankenstein list

     
  12. Kie

    Kie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    822
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011

    Oct 7, 2011
    822
    223
    113
    Risk and Safety Engineer
    Perth, Australia
    If you don't use Kies, then the country doesn't really matter (my phone is Australian and I'm using some XX, european, firmware :p). I haven't tried frankenstein firmware so I don't know the difference.
     
    johnbhoyc likes this.
  13. johnbhoyc

    johnbhoyc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    95
    2
    16
    Thanks mate thats me running 2.3.5 now.

    Now I just need to root it again.
     
  14. johnbhoyc

    johnbhoyc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    95
    2
    16
    Thats me now rooted as well.

    I've got superuser, rom manager and CWM apps but don't seem to have busybox.

    Now I just need to find a custom rom, any recomendations? Would like something fast where everything works like the camcorder, radio, tv out etc
     
  15. Kie

    Kie Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    822
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011

    Oct 7, 2011
    822
    223
    113
    Risk and Safety Engineer
    Perth, Australia
    Revolution ROM works well for me. Look here for more information.
     
    johnbhoyc likes this.
  16. johnbhoyc

    johnbhoyc Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010

    Aug 12, 2010
    95
    2
    16
    I'm going to give this one a go. It seems there are a few different ways of instaling it. Can I install it through Odin like I did when rooting?

    Edit. Tried doing it in recovery mode but couldn't find the zip file on my sd card. It's deffo there as I've checked

    EDIT: found it in external_sd
     
  17. Sydney99

    Sydney99 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,733
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011

    Jul 7, 2011
    1,733
    467
    163
    UK
    Either through odin, or download the kitchen app from the second thread on the xda page, apply through cwm, then download the rom from the app
     

Share This Page

Loading...