1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support how can i get movies and other videos on my Epic?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ItsBenaWhile, Sep 22, 2010.

  1. ItsBenaWhile

    ItsBenaWhile Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    68
    1
    16
    i was wondering how i can transfer videos i have on to the epic and i how i would do so! if anyone can help i wouldnt like to download any programs i know i can convert somethings online but i wanna figure out to put music videos and movies on my epic.
     

    Advertisement

  2. pflol

    pflol Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    347
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    347
    44
    43
    Oahu / Hawaii
    Plug it into your computer and drag and drop? lol. If you're talking about DVDs then you need a ripper
     
  3. ItsBenaWhile

    ItsBenaWhile Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    68
    1
    16
    i mean what kinda video file does it need to be to play on my epic?
     
  4. antmon

    antmon Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    56
    9
    16
    i've been able to play avi and even mkv (bluray rips)....that's pretty much what all my stuff is in....

    i love the fact that you don't need to spend time converting anything....plug in the phone via usb and drag and drop....
     
  5. ItsBenaWhile

    ItsBenaWhile Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    68
    1
    16
    how can i convert videos like that and will they look good on my Epic? like i kinda want to get a movie on there but it like like HD. but idk where to put files and stuff. i put this video i recorded with my cannon camera and i don't think it showed up even though the phone scanned the whole phone for media. if someone could please explain
     
  6. JDubbleTrouble

    JDubbleTrouble Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010

    Sep 9, 2010
    112
    8
    36
    Eat Smoke Play Sleep
    North America
    ive been downloading movies from frostwire in mp4 format to the pc havent really tried any other format i see pl saying avi ill have to give that a try but mp4 if u find a good quality video looks great on the epic havent seen newhere to download bluray quality vids yet dont own a bluray player or ps3 so no reason really to have bluray discs but would like to see how well they look havent got a chance to see the quality of the media hub vids no 4G in charleston,wv and the wifi at work sucks
     
  7. ItsBenaWhile

    ItsBenaWhile Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    68
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    68
    1
    16
    what^^^ and i got this phone because of the screen i wanna put it to use.
     
  8. O'Jackie

    O'Jackie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010

    Sep 16, 2010
    25
    1
    16
    Hi. I tried the drag & drop method - first with an entire folder (relatively small, 4 video clips totaling about 180 mb) and it timed out. Next I tried just creating the new folder on the SD card, and dragging over one of the video clips from the pc (21 mb). The transfer window came up but no data actually transferred and after a few minutes, another error message came up on the pc saying that the path was "too deep." Finally, I tried transferring a small jpg (less than 100k) and got the same error message that I got with the single video clip.

    Has anyone else encountered this problem?
     
  9. YaBoiD

    YaBoiD Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    390
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010

    Mar 21, 2010
    390
    115
    88
    Lauderdale, FL
  10. YaBoiD

    YaBoiD Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    390
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010

    Mar 21, 2010
    390
    115
    88
    Lauderdale, FL
    Try this > http://androidforums.com/epic-4g-ti...rt-sync-movies-music-epic-4g-doubletwist.html
     
  11. antmon

    antmon Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    56
    9
    16
    i've never dragged an entire folder over.... i just have a folder called movies on the Epic and drag the individual movie files from pc into it...

    most i've done is about 5gb, which is 3 high quality movies.... no probs.
     
  12. lefty421

    lefty421 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    50
    1
    16
    Copy them into the 'Media' folder on your SDcard. I actually created 2 new folders within the 'Media' folder. One is Music and the other is Movies. I just drag and drop files off my pc into those two folders and the media scanner has no problem finding them.

    If you aren't able to copy anything over, are you sure you have the correct Samsung USB drivers? I had to download and install those on my PC's before it would recognize my Epic. I had to do this on both my home and work PC's before I could copy anything over.
     
  13. lefty421

    lefty421 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    50
    1
    16
    Please Delete
     
  14. O'Jackie

    O'Jackie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010

    Sep 16, 2010
    25
    1
    16
    Currently I'm unable to copy anything to the SD card.

    That's the current status.

    Yep.


    The correct drivers are installed, however, I noticed that after selecting "Mass Storage" from the pull-down menu on the phone, I do not get the mount option for the card afterwards.
     
  15. GrooveRite

    GrooveRite Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    53
    1
    16
    NYC
    So I put a 720p movie in my DCIM folder, created a movie folder within there and put my movie. How do I access the movie within my phone? I am going to application/myfiles but it keeps telling me that I have no SD card inserted....I do have it inserted though, I checked! Any help would be greatly appreciated!
     
  16. badankles

    badankles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    972
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    972
    90
    98
    USA
    once "mass storage" is selected, you are all good. from pc, select the drive letter assigned to your phone. just remember to eject it properly before unplugging the phone (like all usb devices).
     
  17. O'Jackie

    O'Jackie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010

    Sep 16, 2010
    25
    1
    16
    Thanks, however, Unfortunately that isn't working with my phone. After selecting "mass storage", the drive letter shows up in Windows Explorer. However I also get an error message saying that the USB device might not function properly. When I click on the drive letter corresponding to the phone nothing happens. Typically, the cursor hangs until it times out.

    OTOH, I tried "Awesome Drop" for wireless file transfers between the pc & the phone and that works without any issues. I'd still like to get the USB cable working. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  18. pflol

    pflol Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    347
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    Aug 31, 2010
    347
    44
    43
    Oahu / Hawaii
    I have 8 usb ports on my computer and this phone only works in 3 of them, alot of people have that same issue, its REALLY weird.
     
  19. O'Jackie

    O'Jackie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010

    Sep 16, 2010
    25
    1
    16
    Same here - two in the front of the pc and 6 in the back. The limited USB functionality I do get, is only from the usb ports in the back. For some reason, Samsung advises against plugging the phone into a USB hub.
     
  20. badankles

    badankles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    972
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    972
    90
    98
    USA
    best i can do is direct you to this thread: http://androidforums.com/epic-4g-ti...ze-epic-how-mount-drivers-dont-freak-out.html
     
  21. O'Jackie

    O'Jackie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010

    Sep 16, 2010
    25
    1
    16
    Thanks, I've read thrhough that thread before , however the instructions listed with that particular thread do not work with the phone because as soon as the USB cable to the pc is plugged in, Windows comes up with an error message saying that the device is not recognized. I'm able to get to the pulldown menu option to select USB storage, however, the "Mount" option does not appear.
     
  22. badankles

    badankles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    972
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    972
    90
    98
    USA
    one more try from here. sounds like the usb driver is messed up and won't recorrect itself. uninstall the usb driver, reboot pc. make sure you have internet connection on pc (windows will try to query the internet for the driver if it can't find one on hard drive), plug in epic, select mass storage, wait for the prompts, wait for the device install (notice in system try the device installing icon, wait for message that says device is ready for use. the wait could take a few minutes.

    that's all i can do from here. i know that some people said to download the drivers from samsung befitting your windows OS (vista, win7, 64-bit, etc.), but i never had to do that with my vista laptop. worked the first time (with the prep and wait times above).

    good luck. one last thing, do you have usb debugging setting on or off? mine is off/disabled. (settings->apps->development)
     
  23. O'Jackie

    O'Jackie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010

    Sep 16, 2010
    25
    1
    16

    Thanks. I've tried uninstalling the usb driver, reinstalling and still get the same error message right after the USB cable is connected: "USB Device Not Recognized."

    USB debugging is off.
     
  24. badankles

    badankles Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    972
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010

    Jul 19, 2010
    972
    90
    98
    USA
    Did you do all that was suggested, with reboot after uninstalled and internet access? If yes, then that's all I can suggest, sorry.
     
  25. O'Jackie

    O'Jackie Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010

    Sep 16, 2010
    25
    1
    16
    Yep.


    Not to worry. Thanks just the same for the various suggestions. I'm going to try connecting the phone on a friend's pc and see if I have better luck.
     

Share This Page

Loading...