1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

How can I get the Google Chrome Browser onto my Android phone?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by YourAdrenaline, Feb 27, 2011.

  1. YourAdrenaline

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Hi everyone,

    I have a LG Optimus M and I was wondering how (if possible) I can get the Chrome browser on my phone??

    I've tried downloading Chrome to Phone but I don't see any changes when I click the internet button (little picture of a world at bottom far right of screen)

    Is it actually possible to get the real deal chrome browser on the phone with tabs and the whole works?? (from Google)

    Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks a bunch in advance
     

    Advertisement

  2. suXor

    suXor Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    221
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    221
    56
    73
    U.S.A.
    Chrome to phone is an app that enables you to push a page from Chrome on your PC to your phone. The browser in Android is Google's mobile version of the Chrome browser.
     
  3. YourAdrenaline

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011

    Feb 26, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Hi suXor...

    Thanks a bunch for the tip but I would like to ask...

    You say "the browser" is Google's mobile version of chrome?? which browser are u referring to?

    There are 2 on my phone currently. I have the browser that came with the phone (I think it is Metro PCS's browser and I also have Dolphin Pro HD which I downloaded because I was wanting something with Tabs but I think I missed the mark on that.

    Is there a particular browser I should download that works best for things like Google Analytics etc??

    Thanks again
     
  4. dguy

    dguy Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    985
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010

    Jun 9, 2010
    985
    277
    113
    Male
    The browser that comes with Android phones IS Chrome. It's just tweaked to be much more friendly for being on a small touch screen. There are still "tabs" so to speak but they aren't literal tabs. You need to hit menu then you'll see a button for windows. That is your "tab" screen.
     
  5. amlothi

    amlothi Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,185
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    1,185
    201
    143

    Well, it isn't REALLY Chrome. It has some of the same "behind the scenes" parts. But the interface doesn't look like or act like the Chrome Browser on your PC.

    There isn't a "full Chrome Browser" for android. The "Internet" icon you have on your phone is Google's Android stock browser.

    Personally, I like Dolphin Mini. X-Scope is also good if you like Chrome on your PC.
     
  6. aionkk

    aionkk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011

    Feb 28, 2011
    11
    0
    15
    I prefer the stock browser over the fancier market ones even if it isn't actually chrome. It is nice and light and seems to work well with just about everything.
     
  7. Tre Lawrence

    Tre Lawrence Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,523
    Joined:
    May 24, 2010

    May 24, 2010
    1,523
    259
    163
    Yep, I tend to prefer stock as well...
     
  8. Daverk

    Daverk Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2010

    Oct 19, 2010
    6
    0
    25
    Male
    Psychologist/nurse
    Ireland
    I hear through the ether that Chrome is coming for Android devices. Don't have Ice Cream,so don't know if integrated with same
     
  9. maheshjagadeesan

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    1
    16
    The stock browser isn't really Chrome, and to highlight the fact, we have a new Chrome for Android (beta) out in the Market. Unfortunately, I don't see it working on my Atrix running CM9 :-(
     
  10. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,131
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,131
    4,802
    1,108
    Male
    Chrome for Android only works for phones with ICS (Android 4.0)
     
  11. maheshjagadeesan

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    1
    16
    Yes, I have CM9 on my Atrix (which is Android 4.0.3), but no, Chrome Beta won't run. Well, to be more accurate, it would run, but won't display any pages after seemingly loading them.
     
  12. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,131
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,131
    4,802
    1,108
    Male
    The guys with Galaxy Nexus don't seem to have problems
     
  13. maheshjagadeesan

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    1
    16
    Yes, and I suspect one of the reasons may be (the assumption?) that all Android 4.0 phones will have ONLY software buttons, unlike the Atrix and the many others that all have physical / clearly-marked buttons
     
  14. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,131
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    Jun 30, 2011
    15,131
    4,802
    1,108
    Male
    Not likely. SGS2 ICS update is already in the works and is in alpha testing a couple of months ago. I doubt its just the buttons. However the chrome app is a beta test and is therefore probably not optimized to run on all devices yet.
     
  15. aysiu

    aysiu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    966
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    966
    262
    113
    It's okay. I tried Chrome beta on Ice Cream Sandwich, and it's not that good yet. Maybe when it comes out of beta, it'll be better.
     
  16. maheshjagadeesan

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    1
    16
    Which phone did you try it on? Did it work at all?
     
  17. RichSz

    RichSz Not Entitled
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,086
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    2,086
    1,173
    313
    Male
    Software Engineer
    Between Imladris and Lothl
    It has potential. For example, switching tabs by swiping starting from off the screen to across the screen is brilliant! No more accidentally switching tabs by just trying to scroll to the edge of the screen. Also, closing open tabs in the tab list by flicking them left or right is so much easier than trying to hit a little "x". These are features you wonder why nobody thought of before.

    Text reflow works way better on the standard ICS browser and it's a bit smoother. Even with those things, I can't say Chrome beta is "not good yet". It's got a lot of potential.
     
  18. aysiu

    aysiu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    966
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011

    Mar 6, 2011
    966
    262
    113
    CDMA Galaxy Nexus. Yes, it works. Nothing is broken. It just needs more polish.

    First of all, I was not seeing the touted speed it's supposed to have. Webpages loaded more slowly on Chrome beta than on Browser, Firefox, Dolphin, Opera, and xScope. Some pages wouldn't load at all and would just hang and need to be refreshed.

    The animation for opening a new tab looks spiffy but is functionally hampering. When you open a link in a new tab, a phantom window appears in front of of your current tab covering the bottom half and then sinks down to let you know "It opened but in the background." That communication's great, except that it blocks the page you're reading while it's doing the "cool" animation. I think there are better ways to indicate a new tab has opened in the background. For an example, in the desktop version of Firefox if you have too many tabs open to view at once and then open one in the background, you'll see a tiny flash on the far right of the tab bar.

    Likewise, when you're managing tabs to close, there's a cool animation--you can swipe a tab away to the left or right to close it. Looks cool. But it's still not a tab. It still follows the iPhone Safari / Android Browser paradigm of separate windows you have to manage. What this means is that every time you want to close a tab, you have to do an extra tap to get the list of open "tabs" (really windows, not tabs) and then manage them and then tap again on a tab to bring it into focus. A lot of extra work. In xScope, Boat, Dolphin, and Opera, you can manage actual tabs in the interface itself without a lot of extra taps to bring up new interfaces.
     
  19. maheshjagadeesan

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    1
    16
    They probably wanted to do something to differentiate their effort on a phone. I'm told tab management is different on Android ICS tablets
     
  20. maheshjagadeesan

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    1
    16
    It now works, though I can't remember doing anything different other than Sync-ing properly with my Google account. Trying to access tabs will still FC it
     
  21. tcat007

    tcat007 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,722
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011

    Jan 31, 2011
    1,722
    262
    163
    Texas
    I'll try Chrome if it ever becomes available on gingerbread... but I doubt it will be any better than Xscope. My default browser is "Chrome like", but when it comes to displaying mobile pages it sucks compared to Xscope.
     

Share This Page

Loading...