1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

How can I import my bookmarks?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by psyxologos, Jul 9, 2010.

  1. psyxologos

    psyxologos Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #582
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    237
    20
    38
    Lancaster, Lancashire
    As above really. Is it possible to import my firefox bookmarks to my Desire? If so, how? Many thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement

  2. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,514
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010

    Jul 3, 2010
    1,514
    237
    153
    Button Moon
    If i remember reading correctly, you need the firefox browser installed from market place. The option will then become available to you.
     
  3. psyxologos

    psyxologos Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #582
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    237
    20
    38
    Lancaster, Lancashire
    Many thanks. I will have a go!
     
  4. lekky

    lekky Lover
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,250
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    There isn't a firefox browser on the market...!
     
    Kryten2k35 likes this.
  5. snowmobile

    snowmobile Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    479
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010

    Apr 10, 2010
    479
    92
    73
    I've found a useful little app called LinkPush which will send web links from your pc browser through to your phone. You have to do them one at a time though.

    Before I found that I used to add the links I wanted to a draft email and access them on my phone via that.
     
  6. Pojken

    Pojken Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    207
    57
    53
  7. psyxologos

    psyxologos Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #582
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    237
    20
    38
    Lancaster, Lancashire
    worked a treat. Thanks
     
  8. Scary

    Scary Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    53
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    53
    2
    16
    Firefox saves it's bookmarks as an HTML file called bookmarks.html. You can just copy that over to your phone and then use that as a page of links
     
    psyxologos likes this.
  9. Pojken

    Pojken Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    207
    57
    53
    Personally, I find it easier to use Xmarks. It syncs over several computers and can be used through the web. I set my homepage to Xmarks and all my bookmarks are there.

    Tim

    (And there is an app for Xmarks, but I haven't tried it.)
     
    jmt9779, psyxologos and Kryten2k35 like this.
  10. psyxologos

    psyxologos Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #582
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    237
    20
    38
    Lancaster, Lancashire
    Thanks. I have been using xmarks in firefox but I had not thought about it.
     
  11. psyxologos

    psyxologos Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #582
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    237
    20
    38
    Lancaster, Lancashire
    Edit: I get to the log in page, i input my user name and password but it does nothing. It just stays in the log in page... Please help!
     
  12. Pojken

    Pojken Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    207
    57
    53
    Login of what? Xmarks? Go to the corner where it says My Bookmarks and click on that (yeah, the interface of the login page is bad).

    Then just bookmark that page and/or set it as your homepage.

    Tim
     
    psyxologos likes this.
  13. psyxologos

    psyxologos Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #582
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    237
    20
    38
    Lancaster, Lancashire
    Done it. Works great. Many thanks!
     
  14. gd123

    gd123 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    80
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    80
    1
    16
    What Xmarks apps are you using and is it free or paid?

    Only free I can find is Xmarks sync free bydebueb but seems restricted to10 bookmarks
     
  15. psyxologos

    psyxologos Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #582
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    237
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    237
    20
    38
    Lancaster, Lancashire
    No, I am using 'normal' xmarks and it gives me the whole file, about 5000 pages.
     
  16. Pojken

    Pojken Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010

    May 5, 2010
    207
    57
    53
    I don't think he's using the app, but rather the webpage. Xmarks

    I haven't tried the paid app yet. If anyone has, let me know how it works. Edit: Looks like it doesn't do folders (the app) and that's a no-go. I've too many bookmarks to just lay them out without folders.

    Tim
     
  17. jmt9779

    jmt9779 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    540
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    540
    56
    78
    NYC
    Gravy! That is exactly what I just did :)

    (I looked into the app... The free version is limited to 10 bookmarks and the paid version is unlimited but some of the reviews claim is doesn't do folders. With the method Tim mentioned above, you get everything organized just as it is on your computer.)
     
  18. Cornflake

    Cornflake Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010

    Jun 14, 2010
    48
    7
    16
    The later versions don't, although you could still export them as html from within Firefox.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...