1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How can I play flash vids with Dolphin browser?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ninja636rider, Jan 14, 2013.

  1. ninja636rider

    ninja636rider Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Sep 5, 2012
    86
    32
    33
    Male
    Does anyone know if there's a way to get Dolphin browser to play flash videos? It did work up until the JB update, but now I just get a black box where the video is supposed to be. I found Adobe install in their archives page, and flash does work on the stock browser but not in Dolphin.
     

    Advertisement

  2. GTWalling

    GTWalling Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,277
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012

    Sep 9, 2012
    1,277
    412
    163
    Alabama USA
    You should contact the makers of the browser and see if they have an answer.
     
  3. ninja636rider

    ninja636rider Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Sep 5, 2012
    86
    32
    33
    Male
    True, but the last email I sent them took 2 weeks for a response. Figured it might be quicker here, lol!
     
  4. rexster314

    rexster314 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    May 18, 2011

    May 18, 2011
    30
    10
    18
    There's a setting in Dolphin to enable Flash. It can be set for on demand or set for on all the time
     
  5. tiede

    tiede Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,494
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    1,494
    522
    213
    Male
    curious, aren't we?
    Orlando, Fl
    If you find that the setting is disabled in Dolphin, you can reenable it by using this hack -- requires root
    In order to enable flash player in dolphin browser you need to navigate to data/data/mobi.mgeek.Tunny/Browser/shared_prefs/ using root explorer and delete mobi.mgeek.TunnyBrowser_preferences.xml
     
  6. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #72
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,414
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,414
    3,162
    413
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    There's a non root method as well. Download dolphin version 8.5.1 apk and install. This will replace the version you have at the moment with one which allows you select flash while on jb. Once enabled you can then head back to the play store and update to the latest version which will then have flash enabled.
     
    Dr Edge and ninja636rider like this.
  7. sherlock5545

    sherlock5545 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,050
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    1,050
    304
    163
    London, UK
    Yes, as stated above. Mine, though, survived from ICS to JB with no issues. Even if you update, later, it will still work. I have set it on "Always".
     
  8. Toonz

    Toonz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    178
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    178
    31
    43
    Male
  9. ninja636rider

    ninja636rider Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Sep 5, 2012
    86
    32
    33
    Male
    Thank you Shotgun for the info! I was able to get this issue resolved, and now flash plays again with the latest Dolphin browser. :)

    If anyone does this make sure to sync your bookmarks before installing the older version of Dolphin. When I installed the older version my bookmarks disappeared, but using the sync option they all loaded back like before. That might have happened because I had one of the backup settings unchecked about previously installed apps in the phone's main Settings.

    I will say that when I noticed this problem I started using the stock browser more, and they have improved it quite a bit. If they would add bookmarks on the left edge like the Dolphin browser I would probably just use the stock browser. I don't really notice a difference in speed with either one.
     
  10. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #72
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,414
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,414
    3,162
    413
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    No problem.

    Yeah the stock browser is getting better but I can't put up with no home or exit button though so use dolphin.
     
  11. sherlock5545

    sherlock5545 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,050
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    1,050
    304
    163
    London, UK
    IMHO the stock browser is very stable and fast, much better than Chrome, yet, it will be replaced in future versions of Android (as in 4.2), I guess. I wonder if Samsung will keep it or they will replace it too.
     
  12. javamann

    javamann Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    383
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    383
    58
    83
    Male
    Retired
    USA:Poconos & Florida
    I have a very basic question (don't laugh): How does one download an
    .apk file?

    JM
     
  13. ninja636rider

    ninja636rider Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Sep 5, 2012
    86
    32
    33
    Male
    You click the link to the apk file and it should popup to save file. After saving there should be a notification at the top of your screen. Click that and it gives you the option to Install. You can also browse to the file you saved with Files app (or other file manager app), but make sure you see where you saved the file to.
     
    javamann likes this.
  14. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #72
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,414
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,414
    3,162
    413
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    You'll also need to make sure you have unknown sources ticked in settings, security.
     
    javamann likes this.
  15. Dr Edge

    Dr Edge Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 3, 2013

    May 3, 2013
    1
    1
    6
    I have been suffering without flash player on Dolphin since I got my Note 2 a month ago. I did not think I would ever get it back. This fix was easy and it worked! I can't thank you enough! Very greatful I am. It is just stupid that Dolphin put us in this position and then does not offer a fix such as this when you contact their customer support. Anyway, thank you.
     
    Shotgun84 likes this.
  16. sherlock5545

    sherlock5545 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,050
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    1,050
    304
    163
    London, UK
    They don't help you through this because they don't want you to use it. I know it's lame, however it's not wrong either. Flash is officially death for Android, that means it could potentially be the cause of security holes. Although it still works, it's better to be safe, that's their reasoning.
     
  17. Shotgun84

    Shotgun84 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #72
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,414
    Joined:
    May 30, 2011

    May 30, 2011
    5,414
    3,162
    413
    Whatever he said.
    Cambridgeshire, England
    No problem and welcome to the forum:)
     
  18. Alucius

    Alucius Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010

    Nov 21, 2010
    18
    1
    16
    I tried to follow the non root method. Download the dolphin version 8.5.1 apk and installed. Then I went to settings and made sure flash is on always. After that proceeded to the store and updated. When update was complete and I open the browser, it says JB 4.1 no longer support flash. And when i go to settings, now flash is greyed out and set to off. If I click it it says flash no longer supported. What have I done wrong. Any help is appreciated. If i could stick with dolphin version 8.5.1, it woulda been find, but it doesn't allow me to pinch zoom and videos actually time out even on full screen.
     
  19. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,251
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Current dolphin lets me use flash on most sites :thinking:
     
  20. akaimeridia

    akaimeridia Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 4, 2013

    May 4, 2013
    6
    2
    6
    Hey, I'm trying to install the dolphin 8.5.1 but when I press install it just says "Application not installed". I'm new to androids so maybe I'm doing something wrong. I have the Galaxy S4. Any ideas?
     
  21. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,251
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    If the s4 has the same menu as s3, tap the menu button, Settings, Security, check the box for "Unknown Sources" to install apps from places that arent Play Store
     
  22. akaimeridia

    akaimeridia Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 4, 2013

    May 4, 2013
    6
    2
    6
    I actually have that checked already... hmm
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  23. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,251
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Sorry, i just thought because youre new you wouldnt have checked that. Hmm idk then tbh.. do other apps install ok?
     
  24. akaimeridia

    akaimeridia Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    May 4, 2013

    May 4, 2013
    6
    2
    6
    I'm sorry, I'm an idiot. I still had the previous version installed. For some reason I thought I was just updating it. I uninstalled the version I had and it worked. Thanks anyway!!
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  25. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,470
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,470
    7,251
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Youre not an idiot bro. An idiot wouldnt have worked out what the problem was :)
     
    Mikestony likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...