1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root how can i tell if radio s-off

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by davidscheer, Jun 26, 2011.

  1. davidscheer

    davidscheer Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    please can somone tell me how to check if radio s-off is on of off on my desire hd. and do i have to turn off root befor installing gingerbread
     

    Advertisement

  2. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Welcome to the forums David!

    Sorry if you already know this... I'm replying as if you have not rooted before (also, I realise that rooting is slighly different from phone to phone)!

    Please have a look at this thread http://androidforums.com/desire-hd-all-things-root/354749-how-root-install-custom-rom-desire-hd.html - a very comprehensive list of links on "how to" with all things to do with rooting a Desire HD.

    Usually a Desire HD would not ship with Radio S-Off... it is something you would need to do... it is not a hard process... just a one click process!

    If you are considering rooting, read all of the thread by El Presidente and, once done, if you have any questions, feel free to come back for more info.

    It is worth reading all the info a couple of times, before going for it - I took a month to build the courage up, but am so glad I went for it.

    Before you start, you may have to create a goldcard and downgrade - this will depend on the version of Android you are running and if you are branded... all in the link I have posted.

    Hope this is of some help to you... if you find El P's thread, don't forget to click thanks! :)

    EDIT - in order to fully root your phone, you will need to get Radio S-Off - this will allow you to install a custom recovery, which let's you flash custom ROM's!
     
    davidscheer likes this.
  3. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,019
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,019
    23,885
    3,118
    Scotland
    It depends, do you want to install a custom ROM or the official OTA update from HTC?
     
    davidscheer likes this.
  4. davidscheer

    davidscheer Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    thank you both I have managed to make a gold card and root the phone it,s taken 12 hours solid to get that far now and could never have been achived without the clear instrucions found here
    i,m trying to install a new rom using rom manager lucky i backed up old rom as my first and second atempt,s locked up the phone and i wondred if i should have eng off but reading the posts i dont think so
    i have tried "DesireHD_Stock_GB_kernel" and "LeeDrOiD GB V3.1.7 - 2.6.35.13 BFS

    adn i,m just downloading anouther one and if that fails i will try them all again read some more and have anouther go

    and then may have to ask for more help
    thank,s again
     
  5. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,019
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,019
    23,885
    3,118
    Scotland
    ENG S-OFF is fine, it's not dangerous at all. I was paranoid about it when I was doing it, but it's really nothing to worry about. ENG S-OFF allows you to flash a radio, which is risky, but I did it the other day and it was flawless.

    What it looks like you've flashed is a kernel btw, not an actual ROM. The Kernel is the most basic form of the operating system that sits between Android and the phones Hardware. You'll need to flash the file called LeeDrOiD HD V3.2.1 (FTP) if you want a new ROM.
     
    davidscheer likes this.
  6. davidscheer

    davidscheer Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011

    Jun 19, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    you wer right thy were not roms all is working well
    thank you
     
  7. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,019
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,019
    23,885
    3,118
    Scotland
    Glad it's sorted.
     
    davidscheer likes this.
  8. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    16,881
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011

    Apr 20, 2011
    16,881
    7,193
    1,343
    Work to live, not the other way round!!
    Sheffield, South Yorkshire
    Nice one mate... glad you got it sorted!! :D
     
    davidscheer likes this.
  9. anirudh15891

    anirudh15891 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Student
    west lafayette
    hey i have android revolution and i want to flash the recommended radio for it but i dont know whether i have eng s-off and radio s-off on my device. so if i want to flash the new radio how do i cehck for them in order to continue?
    thanks
     
  10. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,019
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,019
    23,885
    3,118
    Scotland
    For the DHD or the Atric 4G? You've the Atrix listed in your profile.
     
  11. anirudh15891

    anirudh15891 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Student
    west lafayette
    its DHD(inspire) sorry i forgot to change that...
     
  12. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,019
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,019
    23,885
    3,118
    Scotland
    You'll have Radio S-OFF as you've got a custom ROM on your handset. Not sure if there's a way to check if you have ENG S-OFF.

    From what I've read on this guide it looks as though you can attempt to flash the radio and it will just give you an error if you don't have ENG S-OFF.

    Radio flashing is a risky business, so don't just go ahead and try it based on my comments above. I'd rather wait for someone else to chime in, just to confirm my understanding.
     
  13. anirudh15891

    anirudh15891 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Student
    west lafayette
    right thanks man.. really good info.. i did indeed get an error..anyways i wanted ask another question and this regarding gps.. i tried alot of things and still my gps wont get locked at all..this happened after putting in android revolution ROM.. a lot of people are having this issue and a straight answer is given...can you help?
     
  14. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,019
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,019
    23,885
    3,118
    Scotland

Share This Page

Loading...