1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

How can I upgrade Android to 2.1?

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by vincentfmurphy, May 2, 2012.

  1. vincentfmurphy

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    I've got an iMobile 6010, and it's got Android 2.0 on it. The key apps I want to run need 2.1, and so I want to find a way to upgrade it. The "About phone" menu has no option to check for upgrades, nor has anything arrived OTA.

    I've got adb running here (linux); and can use that to put the phone into recovery mode (the reboot mode command doesn't work).

    What I'm looking for is someone to give me simple instructions on what I need to do have 2.1 running on it. I've no need for a rooted phone or anything else special: just Android 2.1.

    With many thanks in advance
     

    Advertisement

  2. bill1991

    bill1991 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012

    Apr 29, 2012
    13
    3
    36
    I'm not sure if your phone offically supports and will accept 2.1...
    I'm sure usually their is a “System Updates” option in the about menu.
     
    vincentfmurphy likes this.
  3. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #19
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,531
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,531
    8,435
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    I assume it is a GSM phone, anyways i did some research and I was not able to find any info on it, sorry, maybe someone else will chime in for you
     
    vincentfmurphy likes this.
  4. vincentfmurphy

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Thanks Bill, Don; the manufacturer is here:
    i-Mobile Malaysia

    About Phone runs:
    Status
    Battery use
    Legal information
    Setup wizard
    Model number (IE6010)
    Firmware version (2.0)
    Baseband version: 06/11/09.st32.brava
    Board SN: (SBV22049B........)
    Hardware version (BV2T1-V4T2)
    Kernel version (unavailable)
    Build number: Eclair.eng.long.20111108.114557.r3272

    I don't see any branding from i-mobile in android (only in the initial boot screen).

    There's a file in the SD card /update/ named update.log, which contains (amongst other things):

    Starting recovery on Sat Apr 28 09:42:15 2012
    framebuffer: fd 4 (240 x 400)
    Fixing execute permissions for /cache
    I:Got arguments from CACHE:recovery/command
    Command: "/sbin/recovery" "--wipe_data"

    ro.secure=1
    ro.allow.mock.location=0
    ro.debuggable=0
    persist.service.adb.enable=1
    ro.build.id=ERE27
    ro.build.display.id=ERE27
    ro.build.version.incremental=eng.long.20100414.180547.r3576
    ro.build.version.sdk=7
    ro.build.version.codename=REL
    ro.build.version.release=2.1-update1
    ro.build.date=Wed Apr 14 18:08:05 CST 2010
    ro.build.date.utc=1271239685
    ro.build.type=user
    ro.build.user=long
    ro.build.host=long-desktop
    ro.build.tags=test-keys
    ro.product.model=i-mobile IE 6010
    ro.product.brand=i-mobile
    ro.product.name=iMobile_brava
    ro.product.device=brava
    ro.product.board=brava_v1
    ro.product.cpu.abi=armeabi
    ro.product.manufacturer=yh
    ro.product.locale.language=en
    ro.product.locale.region=GB
    ro.wifi.channels=
    ro.board.platform=
    ro.build.product=brava
    ro.build.description=iMobile_brava-user 2.1-update1 ERE27 eng.long.20100414.180547.r3576 test-keys

    This seems to suggest a 2.1 update was meant to be applied, or can be applied? My priority is to be able to install MySword - Free Android Bible which states "Please note that MySword requires the minimum Android version of 2.1 (Eclair) for it to be installed"
     
  5. karandpr

    karandpr Android Expert
    Rank:
     #55
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    2,952
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    2,952
    1,816
    443
    Male
    you shouldnt have any problem with that app. as far as I can see ,you may have updated or there is an update available for your phone .
    Did you try installing the app and checking ?

    Edit :You may have updated it but the build no. of the update and your phone dont match
     
    vincentfmurphy likes this.
  6. vincentfmurphy

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    Thanks, karandpr; no such luck unfortunately. I'm still trying to figure out where I can get an upgrade - I may try the manufacturer, but I'm not very hopeful.
     

Share This Page

Loading...