1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

How did your upgrade go?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by drapacioli, Feb 24, 2011.

?

How did your upgrade go?

  1. Perfect, Stock phone

    96 vote(s)
    52.5%
  2. Perfect, rooted phone

    24 vote(s)
    13.1%
  3. Perfect, custom rom

    7 vote(s)
    3.8%
  4. Minor problems, stock

    29 vote(s)
    15.8%
  5. Minor problems, rooted

    3 vote(s)
    1.6%
  6. Minor problems, custom rom

    2 vote(s)
    1.1%
  7. Major problems, stock

    18 vote(s)
    9.8%
  8. Major problems, rooted

    2 vote(s)
    1.1%
  9. Major problems, custom rom

    2 vote(s)
    1.1%
  1. drapacioli

    drapacioli Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    126
    7
    36
    I'd like to get a running tally of how everyone's upgrade went, as well as whether or not their phone was rooted and/or had a custom rom. This will help everyone decide what to do based on the state their phone is in pre-upgrade (Meaning if you ever rooted it or installed a custom rom even if it was reversed for the upgrade process, you should vote in the rooted or custom rom category).

    If everyone could vote and then post what modifications (if any) were made and what problems (if any) you experienced, that would be great.

    I run a stock captivate and my upgrade process went perfectly.
     

    Advertisement

  2. LMaxwell

    LMaxwell Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    95
    20
    18
    Stock phone, very minor issue. For some strange reason, my phone decided to send a meeting update for every cancelled meeting in my Exchange calendar. Even the ones that weren't mine. Strange, very strange...

    Otherwise, everything went smooth.
     
  3. 2manyPHONES

    2manyPHONES Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,820
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    1,820
    326
    163
    NY & TX
    stock phone, everything seems good except my gps. locks in a few secs now however it has me like 5 blocks away from where i am with an accuracy of 70m
     
  4. Buddha64

    Buddha64 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    377
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    377
    49
    43
    DB-0855-03 Aviation Electronics Engineer
    Redstone Arsenal, AL
    Rooted, deleted bloatware. No issues. Took probably all of 7 minutes once Kies mini and drivers were uninstalled, reinstalled, and then auto-updated.

    Now I have to get rid of all the bloat again...
     
  5. robhs

    robhs Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    175
    16
    38
    Dayton, OH
    It didn't....STILL get the ^#%$$*(#"USB device not recognized" message. I have done everything but piss on a spark plug.
     
  6. Big Pope Daddy

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010

    Oct 5, 2010
    45
    7
    36
    I am no expert, but the last thing probably won't work. :D
     
  7. fdtotten

    fdtotten Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011

    Feb 24, 2011
    1
    1
    6
    Stock phone
    Win 7 - 64

    1. Downloaded mini kies

    Samsung

    2. Followed these instructions exactly;

    How Do I Update The Software On My AT&T SGH-i897 (Captivate) Phone To Android 2.2 (Froyo) Through Kies Mini For PC?

    3. Be patient - it takes 15 -20 minutes for the phone to fully reboot while displaying the Galaxy S logo. Then the operation is temporarily slower or with modest lag as the phone rebuilds cache. I put my SD card back in after the upgrade, and needed to reset screen widgets.

    4. Works excellent - fast - GPS is right on it - indoors and outside.

    Thanks Samsung and AT&T...
     
    Aatos.1 likes this.
  8. 2manyPHONES

    2manyPHONES Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,820
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010

    Jul 26, 2010
    1,820
    326
    163
    NY & TX
    Maybe this is why...

    also

     
  9. Rtrecost

    Rtrecost Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010

    Oct 28, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Upgrade ran without any issues once I uses Kies Mini on a windows 7 64bit laptop. I could not get the software to see the Captivate on a Win XP 32bit laptop.

    The only old thing is once it completed and I tried to access my company Exchange email a message scrolled accross the top of the screen stating that my company requested security settings. Shortly I received a message that I needed to click on to verify the settings. Once I did that. I was still not seeing email. At the time I looked at ATT and my data plan disappeared but before I could contact them the data plan showed back up again and everything starting working, email, internet and so forth.

    I still have not been able to test the att tethering as I need to get it activated on my account.
     
  10. El Niche

    El Niche Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    93
    12
    18
    Miami, FL
    I was rooted, never loaded a custom ROM. Upgrade went perfect from JH7. Took 15min. Everything seems to be working fine, haven't tried GPS. Had to reload my LauncherPro widgets but no big deal. Now I am again rooted and everything seems OK.
     
  11. ChristinaRae

    ChristinaRae Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010

    Oct 30, 2010
    7
    0
    25
    Tech Support/Help Desk
    Central Illinois
    Upgrade itself went perfectly, stock phone. There're a couple of apps I think I'm going to have to reinstall, but so far, so good. No problems at all using Windows 7 64-bit.

    I was a little concerned about the mysterious vibrations spelling out the letter "V" in morse code. I think there may be a conspiracy.

    EDITED:

    I have to say now after messing with it for a few hours, it's fantastic. Many of my apps are working much more quickly, as is browsing. Haven't tried GPS, but never used it before, either.
     
  12. MechArm1

    MechArm1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010

    Aug 28, 2010
    19
    0
    15
    This was posted in another part of the forums. read near the end maybe try the last steps in his post.

    I started with a new re-install of Kies Mini. I uninstalled the app first, then went into the registry and removed all references to "Kies", then reinstalled. At this point Kies still would not connect to the phone. I then followed the instruction given earlier in this thread (USB debug, etc.) and restarted Kies and then plugged in the phone - with no success. What did work was to plug the phone in first, select Kies Update mode on the phone, and then start Kies Mini last. Starting Kies first and then plugging in the phone did not work for me.
     
  13. yosemitesam

    yosemitesam Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    37
    1
    36
    CA
    Flashed back to stock, removed ext sd-card, MC, upgrade went perfectly. GPS works good (mine wasn't too bad to start off with). Only problem I see is foursquare widget doesn't work, app loads as expected.
     
  14. Ajax_IX

    Ajax_IX Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

    Feb 6, 2011
    11
    1
    16
    Stock phone updated on Win XP 32.

    I've had Kies loaded since October '10.

    The entire process probably took 30min.

    GPS locks quicker, but not more accurate. 40meters.

    My homescreen layout was wiped, but the wall paper stayed the same.

    About 30min after Froyo was loaded the phone randomly shut off, but I can't blame Froyo for that. I didn't think it was going to fix that problem.

    Thats all I think is worth mentioning.
     
  15. meohman1

    meohman1 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    46
    8
    16
    PSM Compliance Coordinator (Process Safety Managem
    Luling, LA
    Originally Posted by robhs [​IMG]
    It didn't....STILL get the ^#%$$*(#"USB device not recognized" message. I have done everything but piss on a spark plug.


    But it will take his mind off the update problem!
     
    aicirt17 likes this.
  16. cincyrob

    cincyrob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    257
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    Well i just finished installing mini kies. Makeing my last post from my 2.1version right now. Im new to this and its my first atempt @this hope all goes well and i dont brick this thing.lol hopefully within the hour i can post back from the new updated 2.2 version. Wish me luck.
     
  17. gorf

    gorf Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010

    Dec 10, 2010
    11
    0
    15
    Took a while, but came back just fine. Stock+root.
     
  18. cincyrob

    cincyrob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    257
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    kies mini isnt doing anything. it tells me to plug in moble phone. and the phone is pluged in and connected. just looks like it is charging???
     
  19. cincyrob

    cincyrob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    257
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011

    this worked. best tip all day.sad thing about it. i get into it and then it tells me my battery is charged enough... damn!!!!!!!!1 gotta let it charge then try again.

    so i have nothing to worry about doing it this way. let it run its course then i should have a like new phone???

    so with this update it will let me play the so called FLASH games on it???
     
  20. norsairius

    norsairius Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    35
    4
    16
    Kies Mini crashes every time I connect the phone.

    Then it crashes if I plug in the phone then open Kies Mini.

    Windows 7 64-bit. I know that 64-bit technically isn't supported, but I think that alone is enough to point out that Samsung's core competency lies with hardware, NOT software. We're one decade into the 21st century. If 64-bit isn't supported, either get on it, or get out.

    Update:
    Tried toying around with compatibility mode settings, no luck.

    I'm going to try running through the instructions from start to finish one more time and see how far I get.

    Does anyone know if AT&T stores are doing the update in their stores for users who can't get it to work at home?

    Getting FF7 PC to work in Windows 7 64-bit was easier than this... and that came out in 1998 for PC.

    Update 2:
    Stuck with yellow Android worker icon in the step that asks you to hold down the volume keys while plugging in the USB cable. Do I wait until this screen goes away? Or do I unplug the USB cable and continue to remove the battery anyway? I tried looking around the forums and other people asked this question, but no one answered that I could see.

    I'm going to try Windows XP mode next to see if that helps at all.

    Even if this ends up working out, I don't think I can get a Samsung Android phone again. I get that you can root Android phones and install custom roms and stuff, but the bottom line is that it shouldn't require that kind of effort from the user just to get an update. The fact that this update is going so poorly isn't good either. Kies Mini is the first program I've had issues with since I installed Windows 7 64-bit, and that was shortly after W7 came out.

    I am happy though for others who are satisfied with their phones whether it be they got the update to work or if they rooted and installed a custom rom and all that. But for me, it's a thing of principle to some extent. I'll probably go with an HTC device next time.

    Update 3:
    Already more effort than I was hoping to put in, Windows XP mode in Windows 7 64-bit seems to be doing the trick right now. Kies Mini did not crash when I plugged in the phone and it is currently downloading the update. We'll see how the install goes.

    Update 3.1:
    First attempt at updating via Windows XP mode didn't work. I'm guessing it's because at some point after the files are downloaded, the phone disconnects then reconnects itself again to go into download mode. At this point though, XP mode doesn't pick it up immediately. I have to click "USB" at the top of the XP mode window and have it attach the device to the XP emulator again. I'm trying again right now and I'm going to pay more attention so I can make it re-attach the device quicker.

    Also, it's downloading the update AGAIN on this second attempt. Really? Gotta download it again? What an arduous process this has been, and all because Samsung couldn't write Kies Mini such that it'd work more consistently on 64-bit machines? Props to the people running 64-bit who got it to work, but seriously, this is ridiculous.

    Update 4:
    Second attempt at updating failed through XP mode. Trying a third time... "just in case".

    Update 5:
    Third attempt failed in XP mode. Not surprised. Conclusion: Samsung can make good hardware, but they are terrible with software.

    Update 6:
    Tried just about every OS option in the compatibility settings for Kies Mini while back in Windows 7 out of desperation. No luck. Pretty much ready to give up. I honestly have no way to properly convey how ridiculous it is that Kies Mini does not work on a 64-bit OS when every single other program I've installed since Windows 7 came out has had no issue. Again, I had an even easier time getting the PC version of Final Fantasy 7 to work on Windows 7 64-bit. That game came out in 1998! Samsung, we're a decade into the 21st century, won't you and Kies Mini join us, please?

    Update 7:
    Decided to give the full version of Kies a shot, just out of desperation again, and it of course, did not work. I give up. No more Samsung devices for me unless they really show they can make better software.

    Update 8:
    Found a bit of a roundabout solution online that might work. It involves using an older version of Kies and then getting the update through that. So let's see how this works!

    Update 8.1:
    Well I'll be DAMNED. Using an old version of full non-mini Kies is working like a charm so far. Kies recognizes firmware can be updated, and the update is downloading now. I'll post stories of success and general instructions if it works.

    Final update:
    Unbelievable. Just unbelievable. It worked. I created a thread with instructions here:
    http://androidforums.com/samsung-ca...le-updating-froyo-official-64-bit-os-try.html
     
  21. Rlad78

    Rlad78 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010

    Dec 30, 2010
    16
    0
    15
    SC, USA
    You have to go change the USB Connection settings on your phone. It should be under Privacy in Options.

    Do I really need to back up my stuff? I really don't want to pay for a backup app I don't need.
     
  22. porschefan

    porschefan Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    11
    1
    16
    I had to disable the Voodoo lagfix that I had done and then followed the directions explicitly. Worked just fine!
     
  23. drapacioli

    drapacioli Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010

    Sep 11, 2010
    126
    7
    36
    I've been saying the same thing all day, it really works.

    And yes, go to the market and download adobe flash, it's free and will integrate with your browser automatically. I was able to load the full youtube.com videos in 360p, and see full flash ads with sound and animation.

    I also love the fact that the music player now has a proper landscape mode! Great for car docks if you prefer landscape :D
     
  24. kpalmal

    kpalmal Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010

    Dec 1, 2010
    13
    0
    15
    CA
    Stock phone; minor issues (mostly my own fault probably).

    Configuring device/driver install: Instructions say "Plug the cable into the phone and then into the computer. The computer should detect new hardware and install automatically. It will do this for several devices and may take a few moments." At the end of the process I had a message that some of the devices were not installed properly. However, this does not actually seem to be the case.

    "Hold down both the volume up & down keys while inserting the data cable" - had to try this 2x as the first time I must not have held the keys down properly.

    Step 4 ("Restart the Computer") under Configuring device/driver seems to be superfluous.

    Device Upgrading - had to run 2x. First time it finished by saying it did not install properly. Second time worked like a champ. (Had to remove & reinstall battery 2x as per the instructions). Also, it was difficult to tell when the process was actually done. The phone rebooted and sat on the screen with the big S on it for quite a while before I realized that probably meant it was "idle" as indicated on the on-screen instructions.

    All seems fine. Had to redo home screen selections. Background, apps, etc. all reappeared nicely. Some, but not all, settings needed to be revised. Can't tell if it's faster or not and haven't had a chance to explore the new features yet!
     
  25. NJR

    NJR Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    157
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2010

    Aug 17, 2010
    157
    23
    38
    Kies took a whie to recognize the phone. I had to turn it off and then reconnect but then everything went fine. All apps are OK exept for Quick Office, and I really need that one. Not sure why, but that one says read only and has no icon. May try to uninstall and reinstall from the Market

    Actually now that I explore the app is still there just the icon is missing--that's weird...
     

Share This Page

Loading...