1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How do I autocapitalize a word or proper name?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jwbeeler, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. jwbeeler

    jwbeeler Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #421
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    279
    53
    53
    On the original Droid, the word "I" would capitalize as well as proper names, e.g., Wendy, Ryan, Jeff, etc. On the new X they do not capitalize. Is there any way to do this? Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. JemmyDucks

    JemmyDucks Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    62
    31
    43
    Do you have "autocapitalization" checked? Settings > Language & Keyboard > Swype (or Multitouch)
     
  3. jwbeeler

    jwbeeler Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #421
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    279
    53
    53
    Yes. It will capitalize the first letter of a sentence. Just not things like I. It also doesn't recognize contractions like I'll.
     
  4. JemmyDucks

    JemmyDucks Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010

    Aug 1, 2010
    62
    31
    43
    That's really odd. Mine works fine (I'm using Swype on a Droid X and I did not just have to punctuate or capitalize the words I'm or I).
     
  5. wilydodger

    wilydodger Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    7
    0
    5
    Would really appreciate it if some one could figure out how to modify the default autocorrect on the multi touch keyboard.

    My request. i > I , ill > I'll , and ou > you .

    If you can figure out how to do this, I will make you breakfast.
     
  6. Piercing Heavens

    Piercing Heavens Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    185
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    185
    18
    38

    You can't. Have to use another keyboard. HTC IME mod keyboard is my favorite.

    http://www.gimpsta.com/themer/main.php

    That website lets you theme the keyboard.
     
  7. jwbeeler

    jwbeeler Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #421
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    279
    53
    53
    Well, I'm using multi-touch so that may be the issue. Hmmm, maybe I'll try to learn swype.
     
  8. JubbaTheHutt

    JubbaTheHutt Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    998
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    998
    103
    93
    It's a joke that we are forced to use a 3rd Party keyboard...I mean it's a Smartphone for crying out loud...Motorola couldn't learn how to program it to identify "I"?

    As far as conjunctions, you can actually manually add those yourself (just type out the conjunction and before you hit space to start a new word, look for it above the keyboard in a listing of suggested words and choose it for safe keeping).
     
  9. jwbeeler

    jwbeeler Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #421
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    279
    53
    53
    They still don't autocorrect on multi-touch. It's hard to believe the Droid texting works better than the Droid X...
     
  10. jwbeeler

    jwbeeler Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #421
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    Dec 10, 2009
    279
    53
    53
    BTW, this is fixed in FROYO. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...