1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root How do I change what my network says?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by AndroidHogs, Sep 17, 2011.

  1. AndroidHogs

    AndroidHogs Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    612
    62
    88
    Male
    Tuckerman, AR
    Ok to change what ur network says. Download metrOff.zip from playfulgods. Unzip it using root explorer. Open the file up go to data/Eri.xml. change what's in the "". It will be blank. It will say eritext="". Change it to whatever u want. Mine says eritext="Cyanogen" then rezip the file move to ur android folder on SD card then flash it in custom recovery. Hope this is helpful.
     

    Advertisement

  2. DaniellieeE

    DaniellieeE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    289
    30
    63
    Good question. Asked earlier and PG said to look for data\eri.xml - did a search w Root Explorer but search came up with nothing - maybe another step I need to do or search for??? Also what I wanted to change was within settings, about phone, status- @ network is blank n wanted to input Metro there.

    BTW: which ROM are u using? :)
     
  3. AndroidHogs

    AndroidHogs Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    612
    62
    88
    Male
    Tuckerman, AR
    I see it. Its not in SD card just go to data/eri.XML I found it just don't see what I need to change.
     
  4. AndroidHogs

    AndroidHogs Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    612
    62
    88
    Male
    Tuckerman, AR
    I know where it is but don't know what to change.
     
  5. DaniellieeE

    DaniellieeE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    289
    30
    63
    Can you please tell me how you're accessing it - I'm in root explorer and in /data (and still can't see it) TIA
     
  6. AndroidHogs

    AndroidHogs Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    612
    62
    88
    Male
    Tuckerman, AR
    Its a text file
     
  7. AndroidHogs

    AndroidHogs Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    612
    62
    88
    Male
    Tuckerman, AR
    Once u open root explorer it will say data probably have to enable mount r/w instead of mount r/o
     
    DaniellieeE likes this.
  8. AndroidHogs

    AndroidHogs Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    612
    62
    88
    Male
    Tuckerman, AR
    I try and post a picture
     
  9. DaniellieeE

    DaniellieeE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    289
    30
    63
    I have R/W and am in (root explorer) data/ and no eri.xml there - wondering if it's because I have partitions and sys puts some of my files on sd-ext?? I've even done several sys searches for it and nothing comes up. Will continue to search and I'll let you know if I finally find

    Thanks for your help also - appreciate it :)
     
  10. DaniellieeE

    DaniellieeE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    289
    30
    63
    That'd be great :)
     
  11. AndroidHogs

    AndroidHogs Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    612
    62
    88
    Male
    Tuckerman, AR
    Did u download the zip file that fixes mms?
     
    DaniellieeE likes this.
  12. DaniellieeE

    DaniellieeE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    289
    30
    63
    Hmmm thought I did -n good question. Maybe tonight I'll flash that in case. Thanx again :)

    Edited to add: You know thinkin bout it, I may not have cus I thought Playfulgod's CM7.2 rom included MMS fix so probably not - oh well, gona have to do it then Thanx :)
     
  13. DaniellieeE

    DaniellieeE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    289
    30
    63
    Going to flash MMS now - will report back in little. Oooh fun, haven't gone into Recovery since last week - ROM is working so well and no problems - that's a good thing ;).
     
  14. dubtee

    dubtee Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    May 19, 2011

    May 19, 2011
    112
    24
    58
    puppeteer
    Sesame St
    while in root explorer if you hit menu button on your phone there is a search feature.... but..... i could not locate any file named Eri.XML
     
  15. AndroidHogs

    AndroidHogs Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    612
    62
    88
    Male
    Tuckerman, AR
    I see the eri file. but I also read that its in framework.Res.apk. as well.??
     
  16. droidhaxz

    droidhaxz Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011

    Sep 3, 2011
    48
    5
    16
    Maby metamorph can help?
    Lol iment ninjamorph
     
  17. AndroidHogs

    AndroidHogs Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    612
    62
    88
    Male
    Tuckerman, AR
    Can i use ninja morph straight from my phone if so do u have a link?? Pleases
     
  18. AndroidHogs

    AndroidHogs Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    612
    62
    88
    Male
    Tuckerman, AR
    Still having issues. Maybe ill ask playfulgods.
     
  19. DaniellieeE

    DaniellieeE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    289
    30
    63
    Earlier my Wifi would not work nor MMS, so I ended up flashing MMS fix, that didn't work so I ended reflashing ROM and the other files again. Now its working. Yes good idea to ask Playfulgod. Oh, and after reflashing I did finally see eri.xml file. Thanks again
     
  20. AndroidHogs

    AndroidHogs Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    612
    62
    88
    Male
    Tuckerman, AR
    Yea cause its smarter to ask him
     
  21. DaniellieeE

    DaniellieeE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    289
    30
    63
  22. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    actually it can be used on any metro phone running Cm7 ;)

    And as I just explain to ghost.rider, you can edit the eri.xml in the zip with winrar or 7zip w/o unzipping it to say whatever ya wish ;)

    Just look for the empty quotations " " ;)
     
    DaniellieeE likes this.
  23. AndroidHogs

    AndroidHogs Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    612
    62
    88
    Male
    Tuckerman, AR
    I finally got it to work it now says Cyanogen. Redownload the mms.fix
    Go into root explorer unzip the mms fix. Go to ur extracted folder go to mms unziipped then to data/Eri.XML edit where it says eritext= "" after that save change and zip the mms fix again and flash it. And its complete. U name it whatever u want to.
     
    DaniellieeE likes this.
  24. DaniellieeE

    DaniellieeE Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    289
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011

    Jul 24, 2011
    289
    30
    63
    So inputting Cyanogen @ "" helps w receiving MMS? And would it be problem if we instead input Metropcs @ ""? TIA
     
  25. AndroidHogs

    AndroidHogs Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    612
    62
    88
    Male
    Tuckerman, AR
    U Can have it say anything u want it to say
    My mms wasn't working but after I downloaded the old mms fix it worked. The I just made it say Cyanogen. :)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...