1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General How do I clear 'defaults in the Task Manager'?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by GImpinchair, Dec 31, 2013.

  1. GImpinchair

    GImpinchair Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013

    Dec 31, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    I can't find the Task Manager?

    GImpinchair
     

    Attached Files:


    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    943
    Posts:
    10,391
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,391
    2,897
    943
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    Application manager. Find the application. Press it. Scroll down a little. Clear defaults.
     
  3. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
  4. GImpinchair

    GImpinchair Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013

    Dec 31, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    I think the app suggestion is going to do the trick,!

    Thanks

    GImpinchair
     
  5. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    I use it. Not fond of having to restore EVERYTHING to defaults, when you only want one. :D
     
  6. GImpinchair

    GImpinchair Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013

    Dec 31, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    Just when I thought that I had it figured out this jumps up at me when I tapped a link that was to take me to the Google Play Store. (see attachment) Perhaps I'm missing something here. Do I need to clear every app that may have a claim on he link type?

    GImpinchair
     

    Attached Files:

  7. colchiro

    colchiro Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    If the link was to play store, then tap that and choose always.
     
  8. gudguy1a

    gudguy1a Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014

    Mar 1, 2014
    9
    1
    6
    infosec/cybersecurity
    east coast
    Yep, that is where task manager is - a little snag though, there is no data in mine to cause a problem (brand new), there are no defaults to clear, so button is grayed out.

    Ahh, forgot to state that I am having sync issues - getting the error message "couldn't sign in - problem communicating with google servers," been working on this problem for several hours. Trying to get the Yahoo email app from the google store on to the new tablet...
    --- But I am signed in on the google web site, on the tablet.

    On the General accounts settings page > google > accounts > email ==> I have a sync error at the top, while at the bottom of the screen it states there is a sync problem.
    Sooooo, I'm going to wait tad bit longer to see if this is actually a google problem. From doing multiple searches, it appears there are a lot of these errors.... something is not right when this many people get that error.

    And yep, I have done all the resets/power offs/restarts already.
     
  9. gudguy1a

    gudguy1a Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014

    Mar 1, 2014
    9
    1
    6
    infosec/cybersecurity
    east coast
    Please disregard.

    I have since discovered that we have to use a da_n "GOOFY MAIL" email address accout on the G_ _ DA_N device!!!!
    Yet another email account I will not be using.


    Besides, if you do need to use this, go into goofy mail and turn on email forwarding to your regularly used account, with the other setting set to delete the goofy mail copy....
     
  10. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,085
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,085
    1,467
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL
    Gudguy, can you please use a darker font? You're using a light colored font on a light colored background and it is very difficult to read. I have progressive presbyopia and cannot read your posts very well at all.
     
  11. gudguy1a

    gudguy1a Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014

    Mar 1, 2014
    9
    1
    6
    infosec/cybersecurity
    east coast
    Hello there. Hmmm, be glad to assist.

    This will be the first time in 32 years of working in the computer field that anyone has ever asked me to modify text color (and I know someone else who has MUCH worse vision than me - and he has to wear red tinted glasses to see things).
    --- I modified the size of this reply to see if it helps...?

    The only problem is though, I use the default background color here, I do not modify that.


    As to the blues, I was using the 2nd darkest blue on the color palette here and I despise using black.
    But here, this reply is in the darkest blue on this palette.
    Or maybe it was some of the light brown in me recent comments?

    Maybe if the colors still don't come out, maybe you could do a select all so the colors stand out.

    Or, if you wish, I could put my content into a Word doc for you & email it? I wouldn't mind.
     
  12. Petrah

    Petrah Psychotic Female
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    4,085
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011

    Jun 13, 2011
    4,085
    1,467
    333
    Female
    Annoying my X-Husband
    Hanover Park, IL
    The darker blue on the light blue background is much easier on my eyes, thank you. No need to enlarge the font though. ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...