1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support How do I "decode" a cheap battery I bought???

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by 4mger, Jan 11, 2013.

  1. 4mger

    4mger Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012

    Oct 28, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    I needed another battery, and couldn't spend another $43 for one at Metro. I got one from ebay, but when it gets to about 40 percent, it shuts the phone off (like it is completely dead). I contacted the seller and was told the battery needs to be "decoded". What does that mean, and how do I do it? Thanks for any help!
     

    Advertisement

  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,476
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Many device batteries now days have included in them a chip which detects and interprets electrical needs from the host device. It began with camera and camcorder devices, now common with smart phones.

    I'd purchase the battery made for the device, rather than trying to modify or remove the battery's circuitry. But you can fully discharge it, fully charge, discharge again and after a few repeats of that try to see if you have better luck with it in your device.

    Keep in mind that the battery meters in these phones are guessing anyway.. just see the differences in percentages after a shutdown and no charging. ;)
     
  3. 4mger

    4mger Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012

    Oct 28, 2012
    17
    0
    15
    when I used a blackberry, replacement batteries needed to be decoded to work. The batt I bought appears to be a genuine LG battery, but who knows. For the current price of the Motion, I am better off buying a new phone (just for the battery)!
     
  4. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,476
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Yeah, they were doing that at the stores, I remember. They actually changed the parameters in the battery's chip for the new host device. You can still get that done.
     
  5. Nintendo1889

    Nintendo1889 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    419
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010

    Nov 9, 2010
    419
    70
    63
    I bought one of those 3600mah batteries that's supposedly for this device from eBay (you'll know them by the distinctive red stripe at the top and orange stripe at the bottom). It took forever for it to be shipped so I asked them to send another after it seemed to be lost in the mail. Lo and behold one arrived december 26 and another arrived december 27 :rolleyes:

    The one that says its for the lg optimus l7 p700 works. The one that says its for the sprint lg viper 4g lte is rejected by the phone after the os boots up. I see a little difference in battery life but not that much.
     
  6. chicle

    chicle Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    164
    25
    43
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...