1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

How do I get contacts from my pre to my Evo?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Tiako, Jul 10, 2010.

  1. Tiako

    Tiako Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    189
    7
    36
    :thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. JunBringer

    JunBringer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,186
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    Does Pre do any kind of Google Contacts sync?
     
  3. Tiako

    Tiako Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    189
    7
    36
    I don't think so..
     
  4. JunBringer

    JunBringer Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,186
    Joined:
    May 25, 2010

    I think EVO has Microsoft Exchange sync, if that's a contacts type deal then check your Pre for that. Otherwise I got nothing other than typing them in.
     
  5. Agent Jones

    Agent Jones Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    354
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

    Oct 9, 2009
    354
    73
    53
    you will have to use preware. or go to bestbuy mobile or sprint store and they can do it.
     
  6. Agent Jones

    Agent Jones Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    354
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

    Oct 9, 2009
    354
    73
    53
  7. hairongreenfire

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    9
    2
    6
    google.com/contacts

    it is very easy to add contacts from google's site using a keyboard. while adding contacts, you can add pictures/addresses/etc. then just sign into your evo w/ your google account and everything will load from the 'net.
     
  8. edlex

    edlex Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    796
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    796
    142
    93
    Miami, FL
    When I used to frequent precentral I read about a way you can get all the pre's contacts to google contacts. You have to enable syncing with google contacts by choosing google as your contact preference on the pre so that going forward all contacts you enter sync with google. Then go to a sprint store and have them remove your all contacts and then re-download them to the pre. All your contact should then automatically sync in google.
     
  9. taz92

    taz92 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    55
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010

    Jun 18, 2010
    55
    0
    15
    all you have to do is download the HTC sw from sprint.com/downloads, sync and it will automatically find your contacts from like outlook and u can sync them to your EVo.
     
  10. Tiako

    Tiako Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010

    Apr 20, 2010
    189
    7
    36
    I bought the phone from bb mobile and they said they had no way to transfer the numbers from a pre.
     
  11. BeerPimp

    BeerPimp Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    84
    19
    18
    They told me the same thing. I used the WebOS quick install. If you are not very computer savvy I would not try this.

    Getting Started: Homebrew Apps, Patches, and Themes with WebOS Quick Install | PreCentral.net

    Goto that link and go through the WebOS quickinstall. Its under the Setup section follow the instructions. Once you are up and running with your phone connected follow the directions on that page under Patches. The patch is under the Online Repository. It is called Send All Contacts Via Email.
     
  12. Agent Jones

    Agent Jones Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    354
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

    Oct 9, 2009
    354
    73
    53
    my best buy did it for my friend with out a problem
     
  13. Coop1979

    Coop1979 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    14
    2
    16
  14. Agent Jones

    Agent Jones Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    354
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009

    Oct 9, 2009
    354
    73
    53
    this is all in the thread i posted....had the same problem and the fix is in that thread
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...