1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root how do i get updated versions of rom manager and google

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mteezey, Sep 5, 2011.

  1. mteezey

    mteezey Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    384
    134
    68
    Detroit,MI
    Just re flashed back to stock from cm7 because of downlaod issues and FCs. And tried flashing the 07272011 build(from rom manager) and upon doing so i had no market app and went to open rom manager but it says it is not an updated version. Also does nyone know if there is a way to OC above 600 on 2.2.
     

    Advertisement

  2. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    you have to flash gapps-gb-20110613-signed.zip after flashing cm7 and if you want to have 2.2 overclock pass600 than install cm6 which is 2.2 froyo will all bloat remove and extra's included. also you will have to flash gapps with cm6 also, andif you go back to cm7 you have to partition the sdcard soDTa2sd will work, and if you dont partition the sdcard for cm7 than thats a possibility the reason your having FC's. ;)

    Cricket Wireless

    ADW Launcher


    Launcher Pro


    Zeam


    MetroPCS

    ADW Launcher


    Launcher Pro


    Zeam


    Google Apps

    Google Apps MDPI @ Goo-Inside.me
     
    mteezey likes this.
  3. mteezey

    mteezey Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    384
    134
    68
    Detroit,MI
    btw thanks for the link to flash back to stock. Your way worked the best i couldnt get the others to. The force close i would get was process.android.media note responding it would pretty much happen whenever switching form one screen to another or opening apps. Im not sure if i deleted a sys app that i wasnt supposed to before i flashed cm7. what do i want the size to be for partition
     
  4. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    best thing to go with is 512 and 32 for swap, but do it in recovery, also before formatting your sdcard make sure backup all your contents to a new folder on your desktop before formatting.

    one more thing if you have a sdcard that's not atleast a class 4 i would recommend you move the dalvik back to the phone once you install cm7.
     
  5. mteezey

    mteezey Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    384
    134
    68
    Detroit,MI
    thanks. Im gonna give it another try right now. Nothing against rom manager but in your opinion is flashing the zips in recovery better than OTA?
     
  6. ShinySide

    ShinySide Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,504
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    5,504
    2,680
    313
    Palm Bay, Florida
    Koush has a great program (ROM Manager) and great recoveries but I hate using ROM Manager with a passion. Ive never had a successful no problems to follow flash when using ROM Manager. And honestly doing it manually in ClockworkMod recovery is just as easy as doing it in ROM Manager.
     
    Scur likes this.
  7. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    i always flash threw recovery, rom manager is crap (IMO)
     
    Scur likes this.
  8. Scur

    Scur Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,394
    Joined:
    May 1, 2011

    May 1, 2011
    1,394
    481
    163
    Male
    Illinois
    Yeah, I've had an issue almost every time using ROM Manager. Uninstalled.
     
    nuttmeg likes this.
  9. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    uh huh, lol uninstalled in a hurry, plus they want to charge just to download on the weekend and leave comment...
     
  10. mteezey

    mteezey Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    384
    134
    68
    Detroit,MI
    nuttmeg will all those zips you posted above work for metro too? nm just saw both cricket and metro were there
     
  11. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,525
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State

    lol, dont flash the cricket with metro...
     
  12. mteezey

    mteezey Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    384
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    384
    134
    68
    Detroit,MI
    Flashed without rommanager.... All i can say is Wow! My phone is the SH@# now. Its like i got a totally different rom doing it manually than i did through rom man. Either that or rom man doesnt format everything its supposed to in order to install properly. Im actually excited about this flash where as before it was a pain in my A$$. Thanks to Issacj87,playfulgod, and everyone involved in the build. And to nuttmeg for his useful post for flashing back to stock so i could start this process over again and use this ROM to its full potential.
     
    nuttmeg likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...